aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/ppc/kernel
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>2006-03-23 03:01:05 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@g5.osdl.org>2006-03-23 07:38:17 -0800
commit394e3902c55e667945f6f1c2bdbc59842cce70f7 (patch)
treef4bca0bdc0c291fda6f6949265aacec0669b9084 /arch/ppc/kernel
parent63872f87a151413100678f110d1556026002809e (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-394e3902c55e667945f6f1c2bdbc59842cce70f7.tar.gz
[PATCH] more for_each_cpu() conversions
When we stop allocating percpu memory for not-possible CPUs we must not touch the percpu data for not-possible CPUs at all. The correct way of doing this is to test cpu_possible() or to use for_each_cpu(). This patch is a kernel-wide sweep of all instances of NR_CPUS. I found very few instances of this bug, if any. But the patch converts lots of open-coded test to use the preferred helper macros. Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Acked-by: Kyle McMartin <kyle@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Anton Blanchard <anton@samba.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: William Lee Irwin III <wli@holomorphy.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@muc.de> Cc: Christian Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Cc: Philippe Elie <phil.el@wanadoo.fr> Cc: Nathan Scott <nathans@sgi.com> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@suse.de> Cc: Eric Dumazet <dada1@cosmosbay.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/ppc/kernel')
-rw-r--r--arch/ppc/kernel/setup.c10
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 6 deletions
diff --git a/arch/ppc/kernel/setup.c b/arch/ppc/kernel/setup.c
index c08ab432e958..53e9deacee82 100644
--- a/arch/ppc/kernel/setup.c
+++ b/arch/ppc/kernel/setup.c
@@ -168,9 +168,8 @@ int show_cpuinfo(struct seq_file *m, void *v)
/* Show summary information */
#ifdef CONFIG_SMP
unsigned long bogosum = 0;
- for (i = 0; i < NR_CPUS; ++i)
- if (cpu_online(i))
- bogosum += cpu_data[i].loops_per_jiffy;
+ for_each_online_cpu(i)
+ bogosum += cpu_data[i].loops_per_jiffy;
seq_printf(m, "total bogomips\t: %lu.%02lu\n",
bogosum/(500000/HZ), bogosum/(5000/HZ) % 100);
#endif /* CONFIG_SMP */
@@ -712,9 +711,8 @@ int __init ppc_init(void)
if ( ppc_md.progress ) ppc_md.progress(" ", 0xffff);
/* register CPU devices */
- for (i = 0; i < NR_CPUS; i++)
- if (cpu_possible(i))
- register_cpu(&cpu_devices[i], i, NULL);
+ for_each_cpu(i)
+ register_cpu(&cpu_devices[i], i, NULL);
/* call platform init */
if (ppc_md.init != NULL) {