aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/m68k/install.sh
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>2009-07-20 21:37:11 +0200
committerSam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>2009-09-20 12:18:14 +0200
commitcaa27b66bd7188fd063769eaf4b33533ef0709e6 (patch)
tree57d9f96ad40712f690763fb205006938885bbc1a /arch/m68k/install.sh
parent78f28b7c555359c67c2a0d23f7436e915329421e (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-caa27b66bd7188fd063769eaf4b33533ef0709e6.tar.gz
kbuild: use INSTALLKERNEL to select customized installkernel script
Replace the use of CROSS_COMPILE to select a customized installkernel script with the possibility to set INSTALLKERNEL to select a custom installkernel script when running make: make INSTALLKERNEL=arm-installkernel install With this patch we are now more consistent across different architectures - they did not all support use of CROSS_COMPILE. The use of CROSS_COMPILE was a hack as this really belongs to gcc/binutils and the installkernel script does not change just because we change toolchain. The use of CROSS_COMPILE caused troubles with an upcoming patch that saves CROSS_COMPILE when a kernel is built - it would no longer be installable. [Thanks to Peter Z. for this hint] This patch undos what Ian did in commit: 0f8e2d62fa04441cd12c08ce521e84e5bd3f8a46 ("use ${CROSS_COMPILE}installkernel in arch/*/boot/install.sh") The patch has been lightly tested on x86 only - but all changes looks obvious. Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Acked-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> [blackfin] Acked-by: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> [arm] Acked-by: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> [sh] Acked-by: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> [x86] Cc: Ian Campbell <icampbell@arcom.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> [ia64] Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> [ia64] Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> [m32r] Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> [m68k] Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> [parisc] Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> [powerpc] Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> [s390] Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> [x86] Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> [x86] Signed-off-by: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/m68k/install.sh')
-rw-r--r--arch/m68k/install.sh4
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/arch/m68k/install.sh b/arch/m68k/install.sh
index 9c6bae6112e3..57d640d4382c 100644
--- a/arch/m68k/install.sh
+++ b/arch/m68k/install.sh
@@ -33,8 +33,8 @@ verify "$3"
# User may have a custom install script
-if [ -x ~/bin/${CROSS_COMPILE}installkernel ]; then exec ~/bin/${CROSS_COMPILE}installkernel "$@"; fi
-if [ -x /sbin/${CROSS_COMPILE}installkernel ]; then exec /sbin/${CROSS_COMPILE}installkernel "$@"; fi
+if [ -x ~/bin/${INSTALLKERNEL} ]; then exec ~/bin/${INSTALLKERNEL} "$@"; fi
+if [ -x /sbin/${INSTALLKERNEL} ]; then exec /sbin/${INSTALLKERNEL} "$@"; fi
# Default install - same as make zlilo