aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/m32r
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAtsushi Nemoto <anemo@mba.ocn.ne.jp>2006-09-29 02:00:32 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@g5.osdl.org>2006-09-29 09:18:15 -0700
commit3171a0305d62e6627a24bff35af4f997e4988a80 (patch)
tree5cf70462490528523172927c75f47970faa46ce9 /arch/m32r
parent27d91e07f9b863fa94491ffafe250580f0c2ce78 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-3171a0305d62e6627a24bff35af4f997e4988a80.tar.gz
[PATCH] simplify update_times (avoid jiffies/jiffies_64 aliasing problem)
Pass ticks to do_timer() and update_times(), and adjust x86_64 and s390 timer interrupt handler with this change. Currently update_times() calculates ticks by "jiffies - wall_jiffies", but callers of do_timer() should know how many ticks to update. Passing ticks get rid of this redundant calculation. Also there are another redundancy pointed out by Martin Schwidefsky. This cleanup make a barrier added by 5aee405c662ca644980c184774277fc6d0769a84 needless. So this patch removes it. As a bonus, this cleanup make wall_jiffies can be removed easily, since now wall_jiffies is always synced with jiffies. (This patch does not really remove wall_jiffies. It would be another cleanup patch) Signed-off-by: Atsushi Nemoto <anemo@mba.ocn.ne.jp> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: john stultz <johnstul@us.ibm.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@muc.de> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Acked-by: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Acked-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata.hirokazu@renesas.com> Acked-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: Kazumoto Kojima <kkojima@rr.iij4u.or.jp> Cc: Richard Curnow <rc@rc0.org.uk> Cc: William Lee Irwin III <wli@holomorphy.com> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Paolo 'Blaisorblade' Giarrusso <blaisorblade@yahoo.it> Cc: Miles Bader <uclinux-v850@lsi.nec.co.jp> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Acked-by: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/m32r')
-rw-r--r--arch/m32r/kernel/time.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/m32r/kernel/time.c b/arch/m32r/kernel/time.c
index ded0be07a476..7a896893cd28 100644
--- a/arch/m32r/kernel/time.c
+++ b/arch/m32r/kernel/time.c
@@ -202,7 +202,7 @@ irqreturn_t timer_interrupt(int irq, void *dev_id, struct pt_regs *regs)
#ifndef CONFIG_SMP
profile_tick(CPU_PROFILING, regs);
#endif
- do_timer(regs);
+ do_timer(1);
#ifndef CONFIG_SMP
update_process_times(user_mode(regs));