aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/frv
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>2012-10-04 17:12:20 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2012-10-06 03:04:47 +0900
commit16f3e95b3209c4d9080e3a3c6bb9955a0e7cfa95 (patch)
tree3ea326a41bd3709d4cb23bdf89ea4084e41dc6f5 /arch/frv
parent0d118d7f49c8aa0b74be83bc2ad134b71106cab4 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-16f3e95b3209c4d9080e3a3c6bb9955a0e7cfa95.tar.gz
cross-arch: don't corrupt personality flags upon exec()
Historically, the top three bytes of personality have been used for things such as ADDR_NO_RANDOMIZE, which made sense only for specific architectures. We now however have a flag there that is general no matter the architecture (UNAME26); generally we have to be careful to preserve the personality flags across exec(). This patch tries to fix all architectures that forcefully overwrite personality flags during exec() (ppc32 and s390 have been fixed recently by commits f9783ec862ea ("[S390] Do not clobber personality flags on exec") and 59e4c3a2fe9c ("powerpc/32: Don't clobber personality flags on exec") in a similar way already). Signed-off-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz> Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@gmail.com> Cc: Hans-Christian Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no> Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Koichi Yasutake <yasutake.koichi@jp.panasonic.com> Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se> Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com> Cc: Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/frv')
-rw-r--r--arch/frv/include/asm/elf.h3
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/frv/include/asm/elf.h b/arch/frv/include/asm/elf.h
index c3819804a74b..9ccbc80f0b11 100644
--- a/arch/frv/include/asm/elf.h
+++ b/arch/frv/include/asm/elf.h
@@ -137,6 +137,7 @@ do { \
#define ELF_PLATFORM (NULL)
-#define SET_PERSONALITY(ex) set_personality(PER_LINUX)
+#define SET_PERSONALITY(ex) \
+ set_personality(PER_LINUX | (current->personality & (~PER_MASK)))
#endif