aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/arm/lib/lib1funcs.S
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorRussell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>2014-06-30 16:29:12 +0100
committerRussell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>2014-07-18 12:29:04 +0100
commit6ebbf2ce437b33022d30badd49dc94d33ecfa498 (patch)
treebc015e35b456a28bb0e501803a454dc0c0d3291a /arch/arm/lib/lib1funcs.S
parentaf040ffc9ba1e079ee4c0748aff64fa3d4716fa5 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-6ebbf2ce437b33022d30badd49dc94d33ecfa498.tar.gz
ARM: convert all "mov.* pc, reg" to "bx reg" for ARMv6+
ARMv6 and greater introduced a new instruction ("bx") which can be used to return from function calls. Recent CPUs perform better when the "bx lr" instruction is used rather than the "mov pc, lr" instruction, and this sequence is strongly recommended to be used by the ARM architecture manual (section A.4.1.1). We provide a new macro "ret" with all its variants for the condition code which will resolve to the appropriate instruction. Rather than doing this piecemeal, and miss some instances, change all the "mov pc" instances to use the new macro, with the exception of the "movs" instruction and the kprobes code. This allows us to detect the "mov pc, lr" case and fix it up - and also gives us the possibility of deploying this for other registers depending on the CPU selection. Reported-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Tested-by: Stephen Warren <swarren@nvidia.com> # Tegra Jetson TK1 Tested-by: Robert Jarzmik <robert.jarzmik@free.fr> # mioa701_bootresume.S Tested-by: Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch> # Kirkwood Tested-by: Shawn Guo <shawn.guo@freescale.com> Tested-by: Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com> # OMAPs Tested-by: Gregory CLEMENT <gregory.clement@free-electrons.com> # Armada XP, 375, 385 Acked-by: Sekhar Nori <nsekhar@ti.com> # DaVinci Acked-by: Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@linaro.org> # kvm/hyp Acked-by: Haojian Zhuang <haojian.zhuang@gmail.com> # PXA3xx Acked-by: Stefano Stabellini <stefano.stabellini@eu.citrix.com> # Xen Tested-by: Uwe Kleine-K├Ânig <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de> # ARMv7M Tested-by: Simon Horman <horms+renesas@verge.net.au> # Shmobile Signed-off-by: Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/arm/lib/lib1funcs.S')
-rw-r--r--arch/arm/lib/lib1funcs.S26
1 files changed, 13 insertions, 13 deletions
diff --git a/arch/arm/lib/lib1funcs.S b/arch/arm/lib/lib1funcs.S
index c562f649734c..947567ff67f9 100644
--- a/arch/arm/lib/lib1funcs.S
+++ b/arch/arm/lib/lib1funcs.S
@@ -210,7 +210,7 @@ ENTRY(__aeabi_uidiv)
UNWIND(.fnstart)
subs r2, r1, #1
- moveq pc, lr
+ reteq lr
bcc Ldiv0
cmp r0, r1
bls 11f
@@ -220,16 +220,16 @@ UNWIND(.fnstart)
ARM_DIV_BODY r0, r1, r2, r3
mov r0, r2
- mov pc, lr
+ ret lr
11: moveq r0, #1
movne r0, #0
- mov pc, lr
+ ret lr
12: ARM_DIV2_ORDER r1, r2
mov r0, r0, lsr r2
- mov pc, lr
+ ret lr
UNWIND(.fnend)
ENDPROC(__udivsi3)
@@ -244,11 +244,11 @@ UNWIND(.fnstart)
moveq r0, #0
tsthi r1, r2 @ see if divisor is power of 2
andeq r0, r0, r2
- movls pc, lr
+ retls lr
ARM_MOD_BODY r0, r1, r2, r3
- mov pc, lr
+ ret lr
UNWIND(.fnend)
ENDPROC(__umodsi3)
@@ -274,23 +274,23 @@ UNWIND(.fnstart)
cmp ip, #0
rsbmi r0, r0, #0
- mov pc, lr
+ ret lr
10: teq ip, r0 @ same sign ?
rsbmi r0, r0, #0
- mov pc, lr
+ ret lr
11: movlo r0, #0
moveq r0, ip, asr #31
orreq r0, r0, #1
- mov pc, lr
+ ret lr
12: ARM_DIV2_ORDER r1, r2
cmp ip, #0
mov r0, r3, lsr r2
rsbmi r0, r0, #0
- mov pc, lr
+ ret lr
UNWIND(.fnend)
ENDPROC(__divsi3)
@@ -315,7 +315,7 @@ UNWIND(.fnstart)
10: cmp ip, #0
rsbmi r0, r0, #0
- mov pc, lr
+ ret lr
UNWIND(.fnend)
ENDPROC(__modsi3)
@@ -331,7 +331,7 @@ UNWIND(.save {r0, r1, ip, lr} )
ldmfd sp!, {r1, r2, ip, lr}
mul r3, r0, r2
sub r1, r1, r3
- mov pc, lr
+ ret lr
UNWIND(.fnend)
ENDPROC(__aeabi_uidivmod)
@@ -344,7 +344,7 @@ UNWIND(.save {r0, r1, ip, lr} )
ldmfd sp!, {r1, r2, ip, lr}
mul r3, r0, r2
sub r1, r1, r3
- mov pc, lr
+ ret lr
UNWIND(.fnend)
ENDPROC(__aeabi_idivmod)