aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndrey Ryabinin <a.ryabinin@samsung.com>2015-02-13 14:40:17 -0800
committerAlex Shi <alex.shi@linaro.org>2016-04-11 15:24:28 +0800
commit4065ec4ce764cd2b45118da7fd3bc09a619b2055 (patch)
treeb237fbde974b504ca6bf422cd57a41de984a6e5a /Documentation
parent61b80649ab2527c630687acc8a3ac8ce49888622 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-4065ec4ce764cd2b45118da7fd3bc09a619b2055.tar.gz
kasan: enable instrumentation of global variables
This feature let us to detect accesses out of bounds of global variables. This will work as for globals in kernel image, so for globals in modules. Currently this won't work for symbols in user-specified sections (e.g. __init, __read_mostly, ...) The idea of this is simple. Compiler increases each global variable by redzone size and add constructors invoking __asan_register_globals() function. Information about global variable (address, size, size with redzone ...) passed to __asan_register_globals() so we could poison variable's redzone. This patch also forces module_alloc() to return 8*PAGE_SIZE aligned address making shadow memory handling ( kasan_module_alloc()/kasan_module_free() ) more simple. Such alignment guarantees that each shadow page backing modules address space correspond to only one module_alloc() allocation. Signed-off-by: Andrey Ryabinin <a.ryabinin@samsung.com> Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com> Cc: Konstantin Serebryany <kcc@google.com> Cc: Dmitry Chernenkov <dmitryc@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrey Konovalov <adech.fo@gmail.com> Cc: Yuri Gribov <tetra2005@gmail.com> Cc: Konstantin Khlebnikov <koct9i@gmail.com> Cc: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> (cherry picked from commit bebf56a1b176c2e1c9efe44e7e6915532cc682cf) Signed-off-by: Alex Shi <alex.shi@linaro.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/kasan.txt2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/kasan.txt b/Documentation/kasan.txt
index f0645a8a992f..092fc10961fe 100644
--- a/Documentation/kasan.txt
+++ b/Documentation/kasan.txt
@@ -9,7 +9,7 @@ a fast and comprehensive solution for finding use-after-free and out-of-bounds
bugs.
KASan uses compile-time instrumentation for checking every memory access,
-therefore you will need a certain version of GCC >= 4.9.2
+therefore you will need a certain version of GCC > 4.9.2
Currently KASan is supported only for x86_64 architecture and requires that the
kernel be built with the SLUB allocator.