aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation/oops-tracing.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNur Hussein <nurhussein@gmail.com>2008-04-29 00:58:39 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2008-04-29 08:05:59 -0700
commit95b570c9cef3b12356454c7112571b7e406b4b51 (patch)
treef4494412f9e3a02bce5b59a906ee9360a536191d /Documentation/oops-tracing.txt
parentbd3feb13e15a4859f629c9a076554e260c1d1397 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-95b570c9cef3b12356454c7112571b7e406b4b51.tar.gz
Taint kernel after WARN_ON(condition)
The kernel is sent to tainted within the warn_on_slowpath() function, and whenever a warning occurs the new taint flag 'W' is set. This is useful to know if a warning occurred before a BUG by preserving the warning as a flag in the taint state. This does not work on architectures where WARN_ON has its own definition. These archs are: 1. s390 2. superh 3. avr32 4. parisc The maintainers of these architectures have been added in the Cc: list in this email to alert them to the situation. The documentation in oops-tracing.txt has been updated to include the new flag. Signed-off-by: Nur Hussein <nurhussein@gmail.com> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@infradead.org> Cc: "Randy.Dunlap" <rdunlap@xenotime.net> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/oops-tracing.txt')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/oops-tracing.txt4
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/oops-tracing.txt b/Documentation/oops-tracing.txt
index 7f60dfe642ca..b152e81da592 100644
--- a/Documentation/oops-tracing.txt
+++ b/Documentation/oops-tracing.txt
@@ -253,6 +253,10 @@ characters, each representing a particular tainted value.
8: 'D' if the kernel has died recently, i.e. there was an OOPS or BUG.
+ 9: 'A' if the ACPI table has been overridden.
+
+ 10: 'W' if a warning has previously been issued by the kernel.
+
The primary reason for the 'Tainted: ' string is to tell kernel
debuggers if this is a clean kernel or if anything unusual has
occurred. Tainting is permanent: even if an offending module is