aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation/atomic_ops.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>2007-10-18 03:06:39 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>2007-10-18 14:37:29 -0700
commit26333576fd0d0b52f6e4025c5aded97e188bdd44 (patch)
treea9c1f9518d940a8ef10453871f2899ca18d46efa /Documentation/atomic_ops.txt
parent38048983e14c0fb6324175fbaf2be1baa842f5ee (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-26333576fd0d0b52f6e4025c5aded97e188bdd44.tar.gz
bitops: introduce lock ops
Introduce test_and_set_bit_lock / clear_bit_unlock bitops with lock semantics. Convert all architectures to use the generic implementation. Signed-off-by: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de> Acked-By: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com> Cc: Bryan Wu <bryan.wu@analog.com> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@debian.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: Kazumoto Kojima <kkojima@rr.iij4u.or.jp> Cc: Richard Curnow <rc@rc0.org.uk> Cc: William Lee Irwin III <wli@holomorphy.com> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Paolo 'Blaisorblade' Giarrusso <blaisorblade@yahoo.it> Cc: Miles Bader <uclinux-v850@lsi.nec.co.jp> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@muc.de> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/atomic_ops.txt')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/atomic_ops.txt14
1 files changed, 14 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/atomic_ops.txt b/Documentation/atomic_ops.txt
index d46306fea230..f20c10c2858f 100644
--- a/Documentation/atomic_ops.txt
+++ b/Documentation/atomic_ops.txt
@@ -418,6 +418,20 @@ brothers:
*/
smp_mb__after_clear_bit();
+There are two special bitops with lock barrier semantics (acquire/release,
+same as spinlocks). These operate in the same way as their non-_lock/unlock
+postfixed variants, except that they are to provide acquire/release semantics,
+respectively. This means they can be used for bit_spin_trylock and
+bit_spin_unlock type operations without specifying any more barriers.
+
+ int test_and_set_bit_lock(unsigned long nr, unsigned long *addr);
+ void clear_bit_unlock(unsigned long nr, unsigned long *addr);
+ void __clear_bit_unlock(unsigned long nr, unsigned long *addr);
+
+The __clear_bit_unlock version is non-atomic, however it still implements
+unlock barrier semantics. This can be useful if the lock itself is protecting
+the other bits in the word.
+
Finally, there are non-atomic versions of the bitmask operations
provided. They are used in contexts where some other higher-level SMP
locking scheme is being used to protect the bitmask, and thus less