aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorBoqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>2015-08-26 19:52:46 +0800
committerAlex Shi <alex.shi@linaro.org>2016-05-31 14:41:30 +0800
commit7ead5de0d86cd4082b2268a9aaebeead51b8c70a (patch)
treeef04ada8c4d2dc8e7b9ffaba2e1f6864d2eb84a3
parent37db660501c1f00ec6d39d79108a31fb63705ec4 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-7ead5de0d86cd4082b2268a9aaebeead51b8c70a.tar.gz
locking/atomics, cmpxchg: Privatize the inclusion of asm/cmpxchg.h
After commit: 654672d4ba1a ("locking/atomics: Add _{acquire|release|relaxed}() variants of some atomic operations") Architectures may only provide {cmp,}xchg_relaxed definitions in asm/cmpxchg.h. Other variants, such as {cmp,}xchg, may be built in linux/atomic.h, which means simply including asm/cmpxchg.h may not get the definitions of all the{cmp,}xchg variants. Therefore, we should privatize the inclusions of asm/cmpxchg.h to keep it only included in arch/* and replace the inclusions outside with linux/atomic.h Signed-off-by: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org> Acked-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Acked-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Aybuke Ozdemir <aybuke.147@gmail.com> Cc: Chris Brannon <chris@the-brannons.com> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: Kirk Reiser <kirk@reisers.ca> Cc: Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Samuel Thibault <samuel.thibault@ens-lyon.org> Cc: Shradha Shah <sshah@solarflare.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: William Hubbs <w.d.hubbs@gmail.com> Cc: devel@driverdev.osuosl.org Cc: linux-net-drivers@solarflare.com Cc: speakup@linux-speakup.org Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1440589966-26280-1-git-send-email-boqun.feng@gmail.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> (cherry picked from commit 84567995612258c23bc55795575babe7ef605dd9) Signed-off-by: Alex Shi <alex.shi@linaro.org> Conflicts: drivers/net/ethernet/sfc/mcdi.c
-rw-r--r--Documentation/atomic_ops.txt4
-rw-r--r--drivers/net/ethernet/sfc/mcdi.c2
-rw-r--r--drivers/phy/phy-rcar-gen2.c3
-rw-r--r--drivers/staging/speakup/selection.c2
4 files changed, 8 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/atomic_ops.txt b/Documentation/atomic_ops.txt
index dab6da3382d9..ff0983083b62 100644
--- a/Documentation/atomic_ops.txt
+++ b/Documentation/atomic_ops.txt
@@ -540,6 +540,10 @@ The routines xchg() and cmpxchg() must provide the same exact
memory-barrier semantics as the atomic and bit operations returning
values.
+Note: If someone wants to use xchg(), cmpxchg() and their variants,
+linux/atomic.h should be included rather than asm/cmpxchg.h, unless
+the code is in arch/* and can take care of itself.
+
Spinlocks and rwlocks have memory barrier expectations as well.
The rule to follow is simple:
diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/sfc/mcdi.c b/drivers/net/ethernet/sfc/mcdi.c
index d37928f01949..60a672496484 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/sfc/mcdi.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/sfc/mcdi.c
@@ -9,6 +9,8 @@
#include <linux/delay.h>
#include <asm/cmpxchg.h>
+#include <linux/moduleparam.h>
+#include <linux/atomic.h>
#include "net_driver.h"
#include "nic.h"
#include "io.h"
diff --git a/drivers/phy/phy-rcar-gen2.c b/drivers/phy/phy-rcar-gen2.c
index 97d45f47d1ad..8b093d02fc1b 100644
--- a/drivers/phy/phy-rcar-gen2.c
+++ b/drivers/phy/phy-rcar-gen2.c
@@ -17,8 +17,7 @@
#include <linux/phy/phy.h>
#include <linux/platform_device.h>
#include <linux/spinlock.h>
-
-#include <asm/cmpxchg.h>
+#include <linux/atomic.h>
#define USBHS_LPSTS 0x02
#define USBHS_UGCTRL 0x80
diff --git a/drivers/staging/speakup/selection.c b/drivers/staging/speakup/selection.c
index ed68b2cfe031..b62fe0961b0b 100644
--- a/drivers/staging/speakup/selection.c
+++ b/drivers/staging/speakup/selection.c
@@ -7,7 +7,7 @@
#include <linux/workqueue.h>
#include <linux/tty.h>
#include <linux/tty_flip.h>
-#include <asm/cmpxchg.h>
+#include <linux/atomic.h>
#include "speakup.h"