aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.de>2015-05-14 14:40:50 +0200
committerSasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com>2015-06-10 13:42:36 -0400
commitd9b300555107c2ba6294ce0e7027a3660b798025 (patch)
treea6a7527491950340fc8684474d06418da3cbfcd6
parent74caa044f694e2034394893a3d993f9b90b3e895 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-d9b300555107c2ba6294ce0e7027a3660b798025.tar.gz
firmware: dmi_scan: Fix ordering of product_uuid
[ Upstream commit 5c1ac56b51b9d222ab202dec1ac2f4215346129d ] In function dmi_present(), dmi_walk_early() calls dmi_table(), which calls dmi_decode(), which ultimately calls dmi_save_uuid(). This last function makes a decision based on the value of global variable dmi_ver. The problem is that this variable is set right _after_ dmi_walk_early() returns. So dmi_save_uuid() always sees dmi_ver == 0 regardless of the actual version implemented. This causes /sys/class/dmi/id/product_uuid to always use the old ordering even on systems implementing DMI/SMBIOS 2.6 or later, which should use the new ordering. This is broken since kernel v3.8 for legacy DMI implementations and since kernel v3.10 for SMBIOS 2 implementations. SMBIOS 3 implementations with the 64-bit entry point are not affected. The first breakage does not matter much as in practice legacy DMI implementations are always for versions older than 2.6, which is when the UUID ordering changed. The second breakage is more problematic as it affects the vast majority of x86 systems manufactured since 2009. Signed-off-by: Jean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.de> Fixes: 9f9c9cbb6057 ("drivers/firmware/dmi_scan.c: fetch dmi version from SMBIOS if it exists") Fixes: 79bae42d51a5 ("dmi_scan: refactor dmi_scan_machine(), {smbios,dmi}_present()") Acked-by: Zhenzhong Duan <zhenzhong.duan@oracle.com> Cc: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk> Cc: Artem Savkov <artem.savkov@gmail.com> Cc: Ivan Khoronzhuk <ivan.khoronzhuk@linaro.org> Cc: Matt Fleming <matt.fleming@intel.com> Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org [v3.10+] Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com>
-rw-r--r--drivers/firmware/dmi_scan.c7
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/firmware/dmi_scan.c b/drivers/firmware/dmi_scan.c
index 17afc51f3054..35286fe52823 100644
--- a/drivers/firmware/dmi_scan.c
+++ b/drivers/firmware/dmi_scan.c
@@ -489,6 +489,10 @@ static int __init dmi_present(const u8 *buf)
buf += 16;
if (memcmp(buf, "_DMI_", 5) == 0 && dmi_checksum(buf, 15)) {
+ if (smbios_ver)
+ dmi_ver = smbios_ver;
+ else
+ dmi_ver = (buf[14] & 0xF0) << 4 | (buf[14] & 0x0F);
dmi_num = (buf[13] << 8) | buf[12];
dmi_len = (buf[7] << 8) | buf[6];
dmi_base = (buf[11] << 24) | (buf[10] << 16) |
@@ -496,12 +500,9 @@ static int __init dmi_present(const u8 *buf)
if (dmi_walk_early(dmi_decode) == 0) {
if (smbios_ver) {
- dmi_ver = smbios_ver;
pr_info("SMBIOS %d.%d present.\n",
dmi_ver >> 8, dmi_ver & 0xFF);
} else {
- dmi_ver = (buf[14] & 0xF0) << 4 |
- (buf[14] & 0x0F);
pr_info("Legacy DMI %d.%d present.\n",
dmi_ver >> 8, dmi_ver & 0xFF);
}