aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorLarry Finger <Larry.Finger@lwfinger.net>2015-04-24 11:03:37 -0500
committerSasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com>2015-06-10 13:42:38 -0400
commit7cbece11c6b77acaf3421f8bf0d5684237c396c9 (patch)
tree78c196f9d97d833c381c6bf336c94b2de6120f9b
parent7747ae24bbd0412325277e082e6dba6295ee9a11 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-stable-7cbece11c6b77acaf3421f8bf0d5684237c396c9.tar.gz
rtlwifi: rtl8192cu: Fix kernel deadlock
[ Upstream commit 414b7e3b9ce8b0577f613e656fdbc36b34b444dd ] The USB mini-driver in rtlwifi, which is used by rtl8192cu, issues a call to usb_control_msg() with a timeout value of 0. In some instances where the interface is shutting down, this infinite wait results in a CPU deadlock. A one second timeout fixes this problem without affecting any normal operations. This bug is reported at https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=927786. Reported-by: Bernhard Wiedemann <bwiedemann@suse.com> Tested-by: Bernhard Wiedemann <bwiedemann@suse.com> Signed-off-by: Larry Finger <Larry.Finger@lwfinger.net> Cc: Stable <stable@vger.kernel.org> Cc: Bernhard Wiedemann <bwiedemann@suse.com> Cc: Takashi Iwai<tiwai@suse.com> Signed-off-by: Kalle Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org> Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com>
-rw-r--r--drivers/net/wireless/rtlwifi/usb.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/net/wireless/rtlwifi/usb.c b/drivers/net/wireless/rtlwifi/usb.c
index 46ee956d0235..27cd6cabf6c5 100644
--- a/drivers/net/wireless/rtlwifi/usb.c
+++ b/drivers/net/wireless/rtlwifi/usb.c
@@ -126,7 +126,7 @@ static int _usbctrl_vendorreq_sync_read(struct usb_device *udev, u8 request,
do {
status = usb_control_msg(udev, pipe, request, reqtype, value,
- index, pdata, len, 0); /*max. timeout*/
+ index, pdata, len, 1000);
if (status < 0) {
/* firmware download is checksumed, don't retry */
if ((value >= FW_8192C_START_ADDRESS &&