aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>2013-01-11 14:31:56 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-01-11 14:54:55 -0800
commit1b963c81b14509e330e0fe3218b645ece2738dc5 (patch)
tree5179a29d62e7283c8a1d764e7e320490c4352aeb /kernel
parentfef6c12e8874279ebebfa4cd58d735f6adce3ed1 (diff)
downloadlinaro-lsk-1b963c81b14509e330e0fe3218b645ece2738dc5.tar.gz
lockdep, rwsem: provide down_write_nest_lock()
down_write_nest_lock() provides a means to annotate locking scenario where an outer lock is guaranteed to serialize the order nested locks are being acquired. This is analogoue to already existing mutex_lock_nest_lock() and spin_lock_nest_lock(). Signed-off-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie> Tested-by: Sedat Dilek <sedat.dilek@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel')
-rw-r--r--kernel/rwsem.c10
1 files changed, 10 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/rwsem.c b/kernel/rwsem.c
index 6850f53e02d..b3c6c3fcd84 100644
--- a/kernel/rwsem.c
+++ b/kernel/rwsem.c
@@ -116,6 +116,16 @@ void down_read_nested(struct rw_semaphore *sem, int subclass)
EXPORT_SYMBOL(down_read_nested);
+void _down_write_nest_lock(struct rw_semaphore *sem, struct lockdep_map *nest)
+{
+ might_sleep();
+ rwsem_acquire_nest(&sem->dep_map, 0, 0, nest, _RET_IP_);
+
+ LOCK_CONTENDED(sem, __down_write_trylock, __down_write);
+}
+
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(_down_write_nest_lock);
+
void down_write_nested(struct rw_semaphore *sem, int subclass)
{
might_sleep();