aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/compat.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorChristoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>2008-10-15 22:02:06 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2008-10-16 11:21:33 -0700
commitb418da16dd44810e5d5a22bba377cca80512a524 (patch)
tree20ac32ea027bb8d978a22fbfaf6580fd34518aa5 /kernel/compat.c
parentf7a5000f7a8924e9c5fad1801616601d6dc65a17 (diff)
downloadlinaro-lsk-b418da16dd44810e5d5a22bba377cca80512a524.tar.gz
compat: generic compat get/settimeofday
Nothing arch specific in get/settimeofday. The details of the timeval conversion varied a little from arch to arch, but all with the same results. Also add an extern declaration for sys_tz to linux/time.h because externs in .c files are fowned upon. I'll kill the externs in various other files in a sparate patch. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes] Signed-off-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> [ sparc bits ] Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Acked-by: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <matthew@wil.cx> Cc: Grant Grundler <grundler@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/compat.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/compat.c58
1 files changed, 58 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/compat.c b/kernel/compat.c
index 32c254a8ab9..143990e48cb 100644
--- a/kernel/compat.c
+++ b/kernel/compat.c
@@ -26,6 +26,64 @@
#include <asm/uaccess.h>
+/*
+ * Note that the native side is already converted to a timespec, because
+ * that's what we want anyway.
+ */
+static int compat_get_timeval(struct timespec *o,
+ struct compat_timeval __user *i)
+{
+ long usec;
+
+ if (get_user(o->tv_sec, &i->tv_sec) ||
+ get_user(usec, &i->tv_usec))
+ return -EFAULT;
+ o->tv_nsec = usec * 1000;
+ return 0;
+}
+
+static int compat_put_timeval(struct compat_timeval __user *o,
+ struct timeval *i)
+{
+ return (put_user(i->tv_sec, &o->tv_sec) ||
+ put_user(i->tv_usec, &o->tv_usec)) ? -EFAULT : 0;
+}
+
+asmlinkage long compat_sys_gettimeofday(struct compat_timeval __user *tv,
+ struct timezone __user *tz)
+{
+ if (tv) {
+ struct timeval ktv;
+ do_gettimeofday(&ktv);
+ if (compat_put_timeval(tv, &ktv))
+ return -EFAULT;
+ }
+ if (tz) {
+ if (copy_to_user(tz, &sys_tz, sizeof(sys_tz)))
+ return -EFAULT;
+ }
+
+ return 0;
+}
+
+asmlinkage long compat_sys_settimeofday(struct compat_timeval __user *tv,
+ struct timezone __user *tz)
+{
+ struct timespec kts;
+ struct timezone ktz;
+
+ if (tv) {
+ if (compat_get_timeval(&kts, tv))
+ return -EFAULT;
+ }
+ if (tz) {
+ if (copy_from_user(&ktz, tz, sizeof(ktz)))
+ return -EFAULT;
+ }
+
+ return do_sys_settimeofday(tv ? &kts : NULL, tz ? &ktz : NULL);
+}
+
int get_compat_timespec(struct timespec *ts, const struct compat_timespec __user *cts)
{
return (!access_ok(VERIFY_READ, cts, sizeof(*cts)) ||