aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/powerpc/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPeter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>2010-10-26 14:21:51 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2010-10-26 16:52:08 -0700
commit3e4d3af501cccdc8a8cca41bdbe57d54ad7e7e73 (patch)
tree2ce507f7ec7275563653e52f18606aba4f99b7f1 /arch/powerpc/mm
parent61ecdb801ef2cd28e32442383106d7837d76deac (diff)
downloadlinaro-lsk-3e4d3af501cccdc8a8cca41bdbe57d54ad7e7e73.tar.gz
mm: stack based kmap_atomic()
Keep the current interface but ignore the KM_type and use a stack based approach. The advantage is that we get rid of crappy code like: #define __KM_PTE \ (in_nmi() ? KM_NMI_PTE : \ in_irq() ? KM_IRQ_PTE : \ KM_PTE0) and in general can stop worrying about what context we're in and what kmap slots might be appropriate for that. The downside is that FRV kmap_atomic() gets more expensive. For now we use a CPP trick suggested by Andrew: #define kmap_atomic(page, args...) __kmap_atomic(page) to avoid having to touch all kmap_atomic() users in a single patch. [ not compiled on: - mn10300: the arch doesn't actually build with highmem to begin with ] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix up drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_overlay.c] Acked-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Acked-by: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@linux.ie> Cc: Li Zefan <lizf@cn.fujitsu.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/powerpc/mm')
-rw-r--r--arch/powerpc/mm/highmem.c35
1 files changed, 21 insertions, 14 deletions
diff --git a/arch/powerpc/mm/highmem.c b/arch/powerpc/mm/highmem.c
index 857d4173f9c..b0848b462bb 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/mm/highmem.c
+++ b/arch/powerpc/mm/highmem.c
@@ -29,17 +29,17 @@
* be used in IRQ contexts, so in some (very limited) cases we need
* it.
*/
-void *kmap_atomic_prot(struct page *page, enum km_type type, pgprot_t prot)
+void *kmap_atomic_prot(struct page *page, pgprot_t prot)
{
- unsigned int idx;
unsigned long vaddr;
+ int idx, type;
/* even !CONFIG_PREEMPT needs this, for in_atomic in do_page_fault */
pagefault_disable();
if (!PageHighMem(page))
return page_address(page);
- debug_kmap_atomic(type);
+ type = kmap_atomic_idx_push();
idx = type + KM_TYPE_NR*smp_processor_id();
vaddr = __fix_to_virt(FIX_KMAP_BEGIN + idx);
#ifdef CONFIG_DEBUG_HIGHMEM
@@ -52,26 +52,33 @@ void *kmap_atomic_prot(struct page *page, enum km_type type, pgprot_t prot)
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(kmap_atomic_prot);
-void kunmap_atomic_notypecheck(void *kvaddr, enum km_type type)
+void __kunmap_atomic(void *kvaddr)
{
-#ifdef CONFIG_DEBUG_HIGHMEM
unsigned long vaddr = (unsigned long) kvaddr & PAGE_MASK;
- enum fixed_addresses idx = type + KM_TYPE_NR*smp_processor_id();
+ int type;
if (vaddr < __fix_to_virt(FIX_KMAP_END)) {
pagefault_enable();
return;
}
- BUG_ON(vaddr != __fix_to_virt(FIX_KMAP_BEGIN + idx));
+ type = kmap_atomic_idx_pop();
- /*
- * force other mappings to Oops if they'll try to access
- * this pte without first remap it
- */
- pte_clear(&init_mm, vaddr, kmap_pte-idx);
- local_flush_tlb_page(NULL, vaddr);
+#ifdef CONFIG_DEBUG_HIGHMEM
+ {
+ unsigned int idx;
+
+ idx = type + KM_TYPE_NR * smp_processor_id();
+ BUG_ON(vaddr != __fix_to_virt(FIX_KMAP_BEGIN + idx));
+
+ /*
+ * force other mappings to Oops if they'll try to access
+ * this pte without first remap it
+ */
+ pte_clear(&init_mm, vaddr, kmap_pte-idx);
+ local_flush_tlb_page(NULL, vaddr);
+ }
#endif
pagefault_enable();
}
-EXPORT_SYMBOL(kunmap_atomic_notypecheck);
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(__kunmap_atomic);