aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/powerpc/kernel
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2012-11-13 23:51:06 +0100
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2012-11-19 16:41:21 +0100
commitbcebdf846522056a84ba0b0cba5f5413868c9394 (patch)
tree76e007a63351abe84a9713e3b182463c230d1053 /arch/powerpc/kernel
parentfd25b4c2f226de818e1d2b71e3e681d28bcaf5ba (diff)
downloadlinaro-lsk-bcebdf846522056a84ba0b0cba5f5413868c9394.tar.gz
vtime: Explicitly account pending user time on process tick
All vtime implementations just flush the user time on process tick. Consolidate that in generic code by calling a user time accounting helper. This avoids an indirect call in ia64 and prepare to also consolidate vtime context switch code. Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Reviewed-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/powerpc/kernel')
-rw-r--r--arch/powerpc/kernel/time.c14
1 files changed, 7 insertions, 7 deletions
diff --git a/arch/powerpc/kernel/time.c b/arch/powerpc/kernel/time.c
index ce4cb772dc7..a667aaf8584 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/kernel/time.c
+++ b/arch/powerpc/kernel/time.c
@@ -355,15 +355,15 @@ void vtime_account_idle(struct task_struct *tsk)
}
/*
- * Transfer the user and system times accumulated in the paca
- * by the exception entry and exit code to the generic process
- * user and system time records.
+ * Transfer the user time accumulated in the paca
+ * by the exception entry and exit code to the generic
+ * process user time records.
* Must be called with interrupts disabled.
- * Assumes that vtime_account() has been called recently
- * (i.e. since the last entry from usermode) so that
+ * Assumes that vtime_account_system/idle() has been called
+ * recently (i.e. since the last entry from usermode) so that
* get_paca()->user_time_scaled is up to date.
*/
-void account_process_tick(struct task_struct *tsk, int user_tick)
+void vtime_account_user(struct task_struct *tsk)
{
cputime_t utime, utimescaled;
@@ -378,7 +378,7 @@ void account_process_tick(struct task_struct *tsk, int user_tick)
void vtime_task_switch(struct task_struct *prev)
{
vtime_account(prev);
- account_process_tick(prev, 0);
+ vtime_account_user(prev);
}
#else /* ! CONFIG_VIRT_CPU_ACCOUNTING */