aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/powerpc/kernel
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2012-11-19 17:00:24 +0100
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2012-11-20 15:42:51 +0100
commit1b2852b152be5150fbef7b585388ec43cf6f4415 (patch)
tree8c07b611d7fe2051f4fb5c4fe75cf30f902d2f6c /arch/powerpc/kernel
parent1017769bd0073f0a73e066377cd79a10cf0a33ab (diff)
downloadlinaro-lsk-1b2852b152be5150fbef7b585388ec43cf6f4415.tar.gz
vtime: Warn if irqs aren't disabled on system time accounting APIs
System time accounting APIs such as vtime_account_system() and vtime_account_idle() need to be irqsafe. Current callers include irq entry, exit and kvm, all of which have been checked against that requirement. Now it's better to grow that with an automatic check in case we have further callers or we missed something. Suggested-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/powerpc/kernel')
-rw-r--r--arch/powerpc/kernel/time.c2
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/arch/powerpc/kernel/time.c b/arch/powerpc/kernel/time.c
index 3486cfad4a6..b3b14352b05 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/kernel/time.c
+++ b/arch/powerpc/kernel/time.c
@@ -297,6 +297,8 @@ static u64 vtime_delta(struct task_struct *tsk,
u64 now, nowscaled, deltascaled;
u64 udelta, delta, user_scaled;
+ WARN_ON_ONCE(!irqs_disabled());
+
now = mftb();
nowscaled = read_spurr(now);
get_paca()->system_time += now - get_paca()->starttime;