aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2010-06-09 07:13:16 -0300
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>2010-06-10 08:29:19 -0300
commit1d90f2e707e75afdb6b644f774cf5e54dc9c33fc (patch)
treed5bc78d60ac4462ff544f394da94361ead1447d3 /tools
parentd11007703c31db534674ebeeb9eb047bbbe758bd (diff)
downloadlinux-2.6.34-ux500-1d90f2e707e75afdb6b644f774cf5e54dc9c33fc.tar.gz
perf record: Don't call newt functions when not initialized
When processing events we want to give visual feedback to the user when using the newt browser, so there are ui_progress calls in __perf_session__process_events, but those should check if newt is being used. Reported-by: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Tested-by: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Ananth N Mavinakayanahalli <ananth@in.ibm.com> Cc: Frédéric Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com>, Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Tom Zanussi <tzanussi@gmail.com> LKML-Reference: <20100609123530.GB9471@ghostprotocols.net> Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/util/newt.c15
1 files changed, 13 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/util/newt.c b/tools/perf/util/newt.c
index cf182ca132f..7537ca15900 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/newt.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/newt.c
@@ -43,6 +43,9 @@ struct ui_progress *ui_progress__new(const char *title, u64 total)
if (self != NULL) {
int cols;
+
+ if (use_browser <= 0)
+ return self;
newtGetScreenSize(&cols, NULL);
cols -= 4;
newtCenteredWindow(cols, 1, title);
@@ -67,14 +70,22 @@ out_free_self:
void ui_progress__update(struct ui_progress *self, u64 curr)
{
+ /*
+ * FIXME: We should have a per UI backend way of showing progress,
+ * stdio will just show a percentage as NN%, etc.
+ */
+ if (use_browser <= 0)
+ return;
newtScaleSet(self->scale, curr);
newtRefresh();
}
void ui_progress__delete(struct ui_progress *self)
{
- newtFormDestroy(self->form);
- newtPopWindow();
+ if (use_browser > 0) {
+ newtFormDestroy(self->form);
+ newtPopWindow();
+ }
free(self);
}