aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/v850
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org>2007-05-08 00:28:02 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>2007-05-08 11:15:06 -0700
commit966812dc98e6a7fcdf759cbfa0efab77500a8868 (patch)
tree47e38e3c866f1855962e212e6e11f2ab656df710 /arch/v850
parent8524070b7982d76258942275908b7434cfcab4b4 (diff)
downloadlinux-2.6.34-ux500-966812dc98e6a7fcdf759cbfa0efab77500a8868.tar.gz
Ignore stolen time in the softlockup watchdog
The softlockup watchdog is currently a nuisance in a virtual machine, since the whole system could have the CPU stolen from it for a long period of time. While it would be unlikely for a guest domain to be denied timer interrupts for over 10s, it could happen and any softlockup message would be completely spurious. Earlier I proposed that sched_clock() return time in unstolen nanoseconds, which is how Xen and VMI currently implement it. If the softlockup watchdog uses sched_clock() to measure time, it would automatically ignore stolen time, and therefore only report when the guest itself locked up. When running native, sched_clock() returns real-time nanoseconds, so the behaviour would be unchanged. Note that sched_clock() used this way is inherently per-cpu, so this patch makes sure that the per-processor watchdog thread initialized its own timestamp. Signed-off-by: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@xensource.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: john stultz <johnstul@us.ibm.com> Cc: Zachary Amsden <zach@vmware.com> Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org> Cc: Dan Hecht <dhecht@vmware.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com> Cc: Chris Lalancette <clalance@redhat.com> Cc: Rick Lindsley <ricklind@us.ibm.com> Cc: Eric Dumazet <dada1@cosmosbay.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/v850')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions