aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/s390
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>2007-07-19 01:47:05 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>2007-07-19 10:04:41 -0700
commit83c54070ee1a2d05c89793884bea1a03f2851ed4 (patch)
treedc732f5a9b93fb7004ed23f551bd98b77cc580e0 /arch/s390
parentd0217ac04ca6591841e5665f518e38064f4e65bd (diff)
downloadlinux-2.6.34-ux500-83c54070ee1a2d05c89793884bea1a03f2851ed4.tar.gz
mm: fault feedback #2
This patch completes Linus's wish that the fault return codes be made into bit flags, which I agree makes everything nicer. This requires requires all handle_mm_fault callers to be modified (possibly the modifications should go further and do things like fault accounting in handle_mm_fault -- however that would be for another patch). [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix alpha build] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix s390 build] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix sparc build] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix sparc64 build] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix ia64 build] Signed-off-by: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com> Cc: Bryan Wu <bryan.wu@analog.com> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@debian.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: Kazumoto Kojima <kkojima@rr.iij4u.or.jp> Cc: Richard Curnow <rc@rc0.org.uk> Cc: William Lee Irwin III <wli@holomorphy.com> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Paolo 'Blaisorblade' Giarrusso <blaisorblade@yahoo.it> Cc: Miles Bader <uclinux-v850@lsi.nec.co.jp> Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net> Acked-by: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Acked-by: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com> Acked-by: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Acked-by: Andi Kleen <ak@muc.de> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> [ Still apparently needs some ARM and PPC loving - Linus ] Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/s390')
-rw-r--r--arch/s390/lib/uaccess_pt.c23
-rw-r--r--arch/s390/mm/fault.c30
2 files changed, 26 insertions, 27 deletions
diff --git a/arch/s390/lib/uaccess_pt.c b/arch/s390/lib/uaccess_pt.c
index 63181671e3e..60604b2819b 100644
--- a/arch/s390/lib/uaccess_pt.c
+++ b/arch/s390/lib/uaccess_pt.c
@@ -20,6 +20,7 @@ static int __handle_fault(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long address,
{
struct vm_area_struct *vma;
int ret = -EFAULT;
+ int fault;
if (in_atomic())
return ret;
@@ -44,20 +45,18 @@ static int __handle_fault(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long address,
}
survive:
- switch (handle_mm_fault(mm, vma, address, write_access)) {
- case VM_FAULT_MINOR:
- current->min_flt++;
- break;
- case VM_FAULT_MAJOR:
- current->maj_flt++;
- break;
- case VM_FAULT_SIGBUS:
- goto out_sigbus;
- case VM_FAULT_OOM:
- goto out_of_memory;
- default:
+ fault = handle_mm_fault(mm, vma, address, write_access);
+ if (unlikely(fault & VM_FAULT_ERROR)) {
+ if (fault & VM_FAULT_OOM)
+ goto out_of_memory;
+ else if (fault & VM_FAULT_SIGBUS)
+ goto out_sigbus;
BUG();
}
+ if (fault & VM_FAULT_MAJOR)
+ current->maj_flt++;
+ else
+ current->min_flt++;
ret = 0;
out:
up_read(&mm->mmap_sem);
diff --git a/arch/s390/mm/fault.c b/arch/s390/mm/fault.c
index d855cdbf8fb..54055194e9a 100644
--- a/arch/s390/mm/fault.c
+++ b/arch/s390/mm/fault.c
@@ -307,6 +307,7 @@ do_exception(struct pt_regs *regs, unsigned long error_code, int write)
unsigned long address;
int space;
int si_code;
+ int fault;
if (notify_page_fault(regs, error_code))
return;
@@ -377,23 +378,22 @@ survive:
* make sure we exit gracefully rather than endlessly redo
* the fault.
*/
- switch (handle_mm_fault(mm, vma, address, write)) {
- case VM_FAULT_MINOR:
- tsk->min_flt++;
- break;
- case VM_FAULT_MAJOR:
- tsk->maj_flt++;
- break;
- case VM_FAULT_SIGBUS:
- do_sigbus(regs, error_code, address);
- return;
- case VM_FAULT_OOM:
- if (do_out_of_memory(regs, error_code, address))
- goto survive;
- return;
- default:
+ fault = handle_mm_fault(mm, vma, address, write);
+ if (unlikely(fault & VM_FAULT_ERROR)) {
+ if (fault & VM_FAULT_OOM) {
+ if (do_out_of_memory(regs, error_code, address))
+ goto survive;
+ return;
+ } else if (fault & VM_FAULT_SIGBUS) {
+ do_sigbus(regs, error_code, address);
+ return;
+ }
BUG();
}
+ if (fault & VM_FAULT_MAJOR)
+ tsk->maj_flt++;
+ else
+ tsk->min_flt++;
up_read(&mm->mmap_sem);
/*