aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/x86
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorWolfgang Denk <wd@denx.de>2011-11-01 20:54:02 +0000
committerWolfgang Denk <wd@denx.de>2011-11-03 20:44:58 +0100
commitcca4e4aec1fe52e5ecd15e3cebdbb36e2f254220 (patch)
tree58737a4eeeedb099b8a71f8dfacb11a810e1d4fb /arch/x86
parent4d6402b012b074f4658785773c97745963c52dc5 (diff)
downloadu-boot-linaro-stable-cca4e4aec1fe52e5ecd15e3cebdbb36e2f254220.tar.gz
Reduce build times
U-Boot Makefiles contain a number of tests for compiler features etc. which so far are executed again and again. On some architectures (especially ARM) this results in a large number of calls to gcc. This patch makes sure to run such tests only once, thus largely reducing the number of "execve" system calls. Example: number of "execve" system calls for building the "P2020DS" (Power Architecture) and "qong" (ARM) boards, measured as: -> strace -f -e trace=execve -o /tmp/foo ./MAKEALL <board> -> grep execve /tmp/foo | wc -l Before: After: Reduction: ================================== P2020DS 20555 15205 -26% qong 31692 14490 -54% As a result, built times are significantly reduced, typically by 30...50%. Signed-off-by: Wolfgang Denk <wd@denx.de> Cc: Andy Fleming <afleming@gmail.com> Cc: Kumar Gala <galak@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Albert Aribaud <albert.aribaud@free.fr> cc: Graeme Russ <graeme.russ@gmail.com> cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> Tested-by: Graeme Russ <graeme.russ@gmail.com> Tested-by: Matthias Weisser <weisserm@arcor.de> Tested-by: Sanjeev Premi <premi@ti.com> Tested-by: Simon Glass <sjg@chromium.org> Tested-by: Macpaul Lin <macpaul@gmail.com> Acked-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/x86')
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/config.mk10
1 files changed, 6 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/arch/x86/config.mk b/arch/x86/config.mk
index ee23c9f87..fe9083f62 100644
--- a/arch/x86/config.mk
+++ b/arch/x86/config.mk
@@ -27,10 +27,12 @@ PLATFORM_CPPFLAGS += -fno-strict-aliasing
PLATFORM_CPPFLAGS += -Wstrict-prototypes
PLATFORM_CPPFLAGS += -mregparm=3
PLATFORM_CPPFLAGS += -fomit-frame-pointer
-PLATFORM_CPPFLAGS += $(call cc-option, -ffreestanding)
-PLATFORM_CPPFLAGS += $(call cc-option, -fno-toplevel-reorder, $(call cc-option, -fno-unit-at-a-time))
-PLATFORM_CPPFLAGS += $(call cc-option, -fno-stack-protector)
-PLATFORM_CPPFLAGS += $(call cc-option, -mpreferred-stack-boundary=2)
+PF_CPPFLAGS_X86 := $(call cc-option, -ffreestanding) \
+ $(call cc-option, -fno-toplevel-reorder, \
+ $(call cc-option, -fno-unit-at-a-time)) \
+ $(call cc-option, -fno-stack-protector) \
+ $(call cc-option, -mpreferred-stack-boundary=2)
+PLATFORM_CPPFLAGS += $(PF_CPPFLAGS_X86)
PLATFORM_CPPFLAGS += -fno-dwarf2-cfi-asm
PLATFORM_CPPFLAGS += -DREALMODE_BASE=0x7c0