summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm/page_alloc.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>2009-06-16 15:32:02 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2009-06-16 19:47:33 -0700
commita56f57ff94c25d5d80def06f3ed8fe7f99147762 (patch)
tree13cb2626a969e381cb5e3d6ba7f614b9d5ef7a42 /mm/page_alloc.c
parent341ce06f69abfafa31b9468410a13dbd60e2b237 (diff)
downloadconfigs-a56f57ff94c25d5d80def06f3ed8fe7f99147762.tar.gz
page allocator: remove a branch by assuming __GFP_HIGH == ALLOC_HIGH
Allocations that specify __GFP_HIGH get the ALLOC_HIGH flag. If these flags are equal to each other, we can eliminate a branch. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: Suggested the hack] Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie> Reviewed-by: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi> Reviewed-by: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Nick Piggin <nickpiggin@yahoo.com.au> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <Lee.Schermerhorn@hp.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/page_alloc.c')
-rw-r--r--mm/page_alloc.c6
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/mm/page_alloc.c b/mm/page_alloc.c
index ef870fb92f7..94f33e2b7f0 100644
--- a/mm/page_alloc.c
+++ b/mm/page_alloc.c
@@ -1616,14 +1616,16 @@ gfp_to_alloc_flags(gfp_t gfp_mask)
int alloc_flags = ALLOC_WMARK_MIN | ALLOC_CPUSET;
const gfp_t wait = gfp_mask & __GFP_WAIT;
+ /* __GFP_HIGH is assumed to be the same as ALLOC_HIGH to save a branch. */
+ BUILD_BUG_ON(__GFP_HIGH != ALLOC_HIGH);
+
/*
* The caller may dip into page reserves a bit more if the caller
* cannot run direct reclaim, or if the caller has realtime scheduling
* policy or is asking for __GFP_HIGH memory. GFP_ATOMIC requests will
* set both ALLOC_HARDER (!wait) and ALLOC_HIGH (__GFP_HIGH).
*/
- if (gfp_mask & __GFP_HIGH)
- alloc_flags |= ALLOC_HIGH;
+ alloc_flags |= (gfp_mask & __GFP_HIGH);
if (!wait) {
alloc_flags |= ALLOC_HARDER;