summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/mm/Kconfig
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>2008-07-25 19:45:22 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2008-07-26 12:00:05 -0700
commit21cc199baa815d7b3f1ace4be20b9558cbddc00f (patch)
treeeb4f3fa42a83613e2fe586b2555a811740952dce /mm/Kconfig
parenta0a8f5364a5ad248aec6cb705e0092ff563edc2f (diff)
downloadconfigs-21cc199baa815d7b3f1ace4be20b9558cbddc00f.tar.gz
mm: introduce get_user_pages_fast
Introduce a new get_user_pages_fast mm API, which is basically a get_user_pages with a less general API (but still tends to be suited to the common case): - task and mm are always current and current->mm - force is always 0 - pages is always non-NULL - don't pass back vmas This restricted API can be implemented in a much more scalable way on many architectures when the ptes are present, by walking the page tables locklessly (no mmap_sem or page table locks). When the ptes are not populated, get_user_pages_fast() could be slower. This is implemented locklessly on x86, and used in some key direct IO call sites, in later patches, which provides nearly 10% performance improvement on a threaded database workload. Lots of other code could use this too, depending on use cases (eg. grep drivers/). And it might inspire some new and clever ways to use it. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: build fix] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes] Signed-off-by: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de> Cc: Dave Kleikamp <shaggy@austin.ibm.com> Cc: Andy Whitcroft <apw@shadowen.org> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: Dave Kleikamp <shaggy@austin.ibm.com> Cc: Badari Pulavarty <pbadari@us.ibm.com> Cc: Zach Brown <zach.brown@oracle.com> Cc: Jens Axboe <jens.axboe@oracle.com> Reviewed-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/Kconfig')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions