summaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorBjorn Helgaas <bjorn.helgaas@hp.com>2007-07-01 12:06:49 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>2007-07-01 12:29:44 -0700
commitcbcdd772ff43de58cc0d9de76ae9d05e2dd98bc0 (patch)
tree2b60c0786cd751a7ab1d3668423e164360270c3c
parent84288ad89e9736c7478e138f247397b9ab7a9d28 (diff)
downloadconfigs-cbcdd772ff43de58cc0d9de76ae9d05e2dd98bc0.tar.gz
smsc-ircc2: bypass PNP detection until we get the quirks worked out
Don't use PNP detection by default yet. We have some PNP and BIOS issues to work out first. Sample problem on a Toshiba Portege 4000: the SMCf010 device is handed off disabled. We assign I/O ports originally assigned to the SMCf010 to a PCMCIA device instead. We enable the SMCf010, configuring it to use disjoint ports, but _SRS doesn't work correctly, so the device doesn't work. Signed-off-by: Bjorn Helgaas <bjorn.helgaas@hp.com> Cc: Andrey Borzenkov <arvidjaar@mail.ru> Cc: Adam Belay <ambx1@neo.rr.com> Cc: Michal Piotrowski <michal.k.k.piotrowski@gmail.com> Cc: Samuel Ortiz <samuel@sortiz.org> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Jeff Garzik <jeff@garzik.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--drivers/net/irda/smsc-ircc2.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/net/irda/smsc-ircc2.c b/drivers/net/irda/smsc-ircc2.c
index 2803b370ba0..36ab98386be 100644
--- a/drivers/net/irda/smsc-ircc2.c
+++ b/drivers/net/irda/smsc-ircc2.c
@@ -79,7 +79,7 @@ MODULE_AUTHOR("Daniele Peri <peri@csai.unipa.it>");
MODULE_DESCRIPTION("SMC IrCC SIR/FIR controller driver");
MODULE_LICENSE("GPL");
-static int smsc_nopnp;
+static int smsc_nopnp = 1;
module_param_named(nopnp, smsc_nopnp, bool, 0);
MODULE_PARM_DESC(nopnp, "Do not use PNP to detect controller settings");