aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/block/ioctl.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorChristoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>2006-01-08 01:02:50 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@g5.osdl.org>2006-01-08 20:13:54 -0800
commita885c8c4316e1c1d2d2c8755da3f3d14f852528d (patch)
treee4f4e7a7657c0944d11c259f8f17ffcd6b2da0f5 /block/ioctl.c
parent5b0ed2c64d8fdafb5fcfb3baabdd288628b1ff9b (diff)
downloadlinaro-lsk-a885c8c4316e1c1d2d2c8755da3f3d14f852528d.tar.gz
[PATCH] Add block_device_operations.getgeo block device method
HDIO_GETGEO is implemented in most block drivers, and all of them have to duplicate the code to copy the structure to userspace, as well as getting the start sector. This patch moves that to common code [1] and adds a ->getgeo method to fill out the raw kernel hd_geometry structure. For many drivers this means ->ioctl can go away now. [1] the s390 block drivers are odd in this respect. xpram sets ->start to 4 always which seems more than odd, and the dasd driver shifts the start offset around, probably because of it's non-standard sector size. Signed-off-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@suse.de> Cc: <mike.miller@hp.com> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Paolo Giarrusso <blaisorblade@yahoo.it> Cc: Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <B.Zolnierkiewicz@elka.pw.edu.pl> Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@cse.unsw.edu.au> Cc: Markus Lidel <Markus.Lidel@shadowconnect.com> Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@steeleye.com> Signed-off-by: Adrian Bunk <bunk@stusta.de> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'block/ioctl.c')
-rw-r--r--block/ioctl.c22
1 files changed, 22 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/block/ioctl.c b/block/ioctl.c
index 6e278474f9a..82030e1dfd6 100644
--- a/block/ioctl.c
+++ b/block/ioctl.c
@@ -1,6 +1,7 @@
#include <linux/sched.h> /* for capable() */
#include <linux/blkdev.h>
#include <linux/blkpg.h>
+#include <linux/hdreg.h>
#include <linux/backing-dev.h>
#include <linux/buffer_head.h>
#include <linux/smp_lock.h>
@@ -245,6 +246,27 @@ int blkdev_ioctl(struct inode *inode, struct file *file, unsigned cmd,
set_device_ro(bdev, n);
unlock_kernel();
return 0;
+ case HDIO_GETGEO: {
+ struct hd_geometry geo;
+
+ if (!arg)
+ return -EINVAL;
+ if (!disk->fops->getgeo)
+ return -ENOTTY;
+
+ /*
+ * We need to set the startsect first, the driver may
+ * want to override it.
+ */
+ geo.start = get_start_sect(bdev);
+ ret = disk->fops->getgeo(bdev, &geo);
+ if (ret)
+ return ret;
+ if (copy_to_user((struct hd_geometry __user *)arg, &geo,
+ sizeof(geo)))
+ return -EFAULT;
+ return 0;
+ }
}
lock_kernel();