aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/powerpc
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorEric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>2014-01-15 06:50:07 -0800
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>2014-02-06 11:08:16 -0800
commitcd7361dc9fa60c35d011d674d48eababcc3eb767 (patch)
tree51c5b5cdfabf829671688e9df26623fa64feb5ea /arch/powerpc
parent8c035b62e21a2d26c1a5181ee0d27a76c8996be8 (diff)
downloadlinaro-lsk-cd7361dc9fa60c35d011d674d48eababcc3eb767.tar.gz
bpf: do not use reciprocal divide
[ Upstream commit aee636c4809fa54848ff07a899b326eb1f9987a2 ] At first Jakub Zawadzki noticed that some divisions by reciprocal_divide were not correct. (off by one in some cases) http://www.wireshark.org/~darkjames/reciprocal-buggy.c He could also show this with BPF: http://www.wireshark.org/~darkjames/set-and-dump-filter-k-bug.c The reciprocal divide in linux kernel is not generic enough, lets remove its use in BPF, as it is not worth the pain with current cpus. Signed-off-by: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com> Reported-by: Jakub Zawadzki <darkjames-ws@darkjames.pl> Cc: Mircea Gherzan <mgherzan@gmail.com> Cc: Daniel Borkmann <dxchgb@gmail.com> Cc: Hannes Frederic Sowa <hannes@stressinduktion.org> Cc: Matt Evans <matt@ozlabs.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/powerpc')
-rw-r--r--arch/powerpc/net/bpf_jit_comp.c7
1 files changed, 4 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/arch/powerpc/net/bpf_jit_comp.c b/arch/powerpc/net/bpf_jit_comp.c
index c427ae36374..a012a9747cd 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/net/bpf_jit_comp.c
+++ b/arch/powerpc/net/bpf_jit_comp.c
@@ -209,10 +209,11 @@ static int bpf_jit_build_body(struct sk_filter *fp, u32 *image,
}
PPC_DIVWU(r_A, r_A, r_X);
break;
- case BPF_S_ALU_DIV_K: /* A = reciprocal_divide(A, K); */
+ case BPF_S_ALU_DIV_K: /* A /= K */
+ if (K == 1)
+ break;
PPC_LI32(r_scratch1, K);
- /* Top 32 bits of 64bit result -> A */
- PPC_MULHWU(r_A, r_A, r_scratch1);
+ PPC_DIVWU(r_A, r_A, r_scratch1);
break;
case BPF_S_ALU_AND_X:
ctx->seen |= SEEN_XREG;