aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorZach Brown <zab@redhat.com>2013-05-07 16:18:27 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2013-05-07 18:38:28 -0700
commit162934de51e0271f6e2955075735656ea5092ea9 (patch)
tree7a843e340e0241f66acb83e906ee6ee6152b1355
parent41003a7bcfed1255032e1e7c7b487e505b22e298 (diff)
downloadlinaro-lsk-162934de51e0271f6e2955075735656ea5092ea9.tar.gz
char: add aio_{read,write} to /dev/{null,zero}
These are handy for measuring the cost of the aio infrastructure with operations that do very little and complete immediately. Signed-off-by: Zach Brown <zab@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Kent Overstreet <koverstreet@google.com> Cc: Felipe Balbi <balbi@ti.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Mark Fasheh <mfasheh@suse.com> Cc: Joel Becker <jlbec@evilplan.org> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: Asai Thambi S P <asamymuthupa@micron.com> Cc: Selvan Mani <smani@micron.com> Cc: Sam Bradshaw <sbradshaw@micron.com> Acked-by: Jeff Moyer <jmoyer@redhat.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Benjamin LaHaise <bcrl@kvack.org> Reviewed-by: "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--drivers/char/mem.c35
1 files changed, 35 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/char/mem.c b/drivers/char/mem.c
index 2c644afbcdd..e49265f18f8 100644
--- a/drivers/char/mem.c
+++ b/drivers/char/mem.c
@@ -627,6 +627,18 @@ static ssize_t write_null(struct file *file, const char __user *buf,
return count;
}
+static ssize_t aio_read_null(struct kiocb *iocb, const struct iovec *iov,
+ unsigned long nr_segs, loff_t pos)
+{
+ return 0;
+}
+
+static ssize_t aio_write_null(struct kiocb *iocb, const struct iovec *iov,
+ unsigned long nr_segs, loff_t pos)
+{
+ return iov_length(iov, nr_segs);
+}
+
static int pipe_to_null(struct pipe_inode_info *info, struct pipe_buffer *buf,
struct splice_desc *sd)
{
@@ -670,6 +682,24 @@ static ssize_t read_zero(struct file *file, char __user *buf,
return written ? written : -EFAULT;
}
+static ssize_t aio_read_zero(struct kiocb *iocb, const struct iovec *iov,
+ unsigned long nr_segs, loff_t pos)
+{
+ size_t written = 0;
+ unsigned long i;
+ ssize_t ret;
+
+ for (i = 0; i < nr_segs; i++) {
+ ret = read_zero(iocb->ki_filp, iov[i].iov_base, iov[i].iov_len,
+ &pos);
+ if (ret < 0)
+ break;
+ written += ret;
+ }
+
+ return written ? written : -EFAULT;
+}
+
static int mmap_zero(struct file *file, struct vm_area_struct *vma)
{
#ifndef CONFIG_MMU
@@ -738,6 +768,7 @@ static int open_port(struct inode *inode, struct file *filp)
#define full_lseek null_lseek
#define write_zero write_null
#define read_full read_zero
+#define aio_write_zero aio_write_null
#define open_mem open_port
#define open_kmem open_mem
#define open_oldmem open_mem
@@ -766,6 +797,8 @@ static const struct file_operations null_fops = {
.llseek = null_lseek,
.read = read_null,
.write = write_null,
+ .aio_read = aio_read_null,
+ .aio_write = aio_write_null,
.splice_write = splice_write_null,
};
@@ -782,6 +815,8 @@ static const struct file_operations zero_fops = {
.llseek = zero_lseek,
.read = read_zero,
.write = write_zero,
+ .aio_read = aio_read_zero,
+ .aio_write = aio_write_zero,
.mmap = mmap_zero,
};