aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/net/core
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorEric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>2011-02-17 22:59:19 +0000
committerDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>2011-02-18 11:49:36 -0800
commitceaaec98ad99859ac90ac6863ad0a6cd075d8e0e (patch)
tree12754d2780860162b031e8c67c80866473cb4fe9 /net/core
parentf87e6f47933e3ebeced9bb12615e830a72cedce4 (diff)
downloadlinux-2.6.38-lt-ux500-ceaaec98ad99859ac90ac6863ad0a6cd075d8e0e.tar.gz
net: deinit automatic LIST_HEAD
commit 9b5e383c11b08784 (net: Introduce unregister_netdevice_many()) left an active LIST_HEAD() in rollback_registered(), with possible memory corruption. Even if device is freed without touching its unreg_list (and therefore touching the previous memory location holding LISTE_HEAD(single), better close the bug for good, since its really subtle. (Same fix for default_device_exit_batch() for completeness) Reported-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Tested-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz> Reported-by: Eric W. Biderman <ebiderman@xmission.com> Tested-by: Eric W. Biderman <ebiderman@xmission.com> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com> CC: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> CC: Octavian Purdila <opurdila@ixiacom.com> CC: stable <stable@kernel.org> [.33+] Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Diffstat (limited to 'net/core')
-rw-r--r--net/core/dev.c2
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/net/core/dev.c b/net/core/dev.c
index a18c1643ea9..8ae6631abcc 100644
--- a/net/core/dev.c
+++ b/net/core/dev.c
@@ -5066,6 +5066,7 @@ static void rollback_registered(struct net_device *dev)
list_add(&dev->unreg_list, &single);
rollback_registered_many(&single);
+ list_del(&single);
}
unsigned long netdev_fix_features(unsigned long features, const char *name)
@@ -6219,6 +6220,7 @@ static void __net_exit default_device_exit_batch(struct list_head *net_list)
}
}
unregister_netdevice_many(&dev_kill_list);
+ list_del(&dev_kill_list);
rtnl_unlock();
}