aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/ia64
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMichel Lespinasse <walken@google.com>2011-03-10 18:48:51 -0800
committerThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>2011-03-11 12:23:08 +0100
commit37a9d912b24f96a0591773e6e6c3642991ae5a70 (patch)
tree5c4d5b9a52e2c533269e589115afbd25b6c8534b /arch/ia64
parent522d7decc0370070448a8c28982c8dfd8970489e (diff)
downloadlinux-2.6.38-lt-ux500-37a9d912b24f96a0591773e6e6c3642991ae5a70.tar.gz
futex: Sanitize cmpxchg_futex_value_locked API
The cmpxchg_futex_value_locked API was funny in that it returned either the original, user-exposed futex value OR an error code such as -EFAULT. This was confusing at best, and could be a source of livelocks in places that retry the cmpxchg_futex_value_locked after trying to fix the issue by running fault_in_user_writeable(). This change makes the cmpxchg_futex_value_locked API more similar to the get_futex_value_locked one, returning an error code and updating the original value through a reference argument. Signed-off-by: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com> Acked-by: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com> [tile] Acked-by: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> [ia64] Acked-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Tested-by: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> [microblaze] Acked-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> [frv] Cc: Darren Hart <darren@dvhart.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> LKML-Reference: <20110311024851.GC26122@google.com> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/ia64')
-rw-r--r--arch/ia64/include/asm/futex.h9
1 files changed, 6 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/arch/ia64/include/asm/futex.h b/arch/ia64/include/asm/futex.h
index c7f0f062239..b0728404dad 100644
--- a/arch/ia64/include/asm/futex.h
+++ b/arch/ia64/include/asm/futex.h
@@ -100,23 +100,26 @@ futex_atomic_op_inuser (int encoded_op, int __user *uaddr)
}
static inline int
-futex_atomic_cmpxchg_inatomic(int __user *uaddr, int oldval, int newval)
+futex_atomic_cmpxchg_inatomic(int *uval, int __user *uaddr,
+ int oldval, int newval)
{
if (!access_ok(VERIFY_WRITE, uaddr, sizeof(int)))
return -EFAULT;
{
- register unsigned long r8 __asm ("r8");
+ register unsigned long r8 __asm ("r8") = 0;
+ unsigned long prev;
__asm__ __volatile__(
" mf;; \n"
" mov ar.ccv=%3;; \n"
"[1:] cmpxchg4.acq %0=[%1],%2,ar.ccv \n"
" .xdata4 \"__ex_table\", 1b-., 2f-. \n"
"[2:]"
- : "=r" (r8)
+ : "=r" (prev)
: "r" (uaddr), "r" (newval),
"rO" ((long) (unsigned) oldval)
: "memory");
+ *uval = prev;
return r8;
}
}