aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/virt/kvm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorZhang, Yanmin <yanmin_zhang@linux.intel.com>2010-03-18 11:36:05 -0300
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>2010-03-18 16:21:12 +0100
commitd6d901c23a9c4c7361aa901b5b2dda69703dd5e0 (patch)
tree601fc2cafac552c80b8456c8dd4b9964171552db /virt/kvm
parent46be604b5ba738d53e5f5314813a4e7092864baf (diff)
downloadlinux-2.6.34-ux500-d6d901c23a9c4c7361aa901b5b2dda69703dd5e0.tar.gz
perf events: Change perf parameter --pid to process-wide collection instead of thread-wide
Parameter --pid (or -p) of perf currently means a thread-wide collection. For exmaple, if a process whose id is 8888 has 10 threads, 'perf top -p 8888' just collects the main thread statistics. That's misleading. Users are used to attach a whole process when debugging a process by gdb. To follow normal usage style, the patch change --pid to process-wide collection and add --tid (-t) to mean a thread-wide collection. Usage example is: # perf top -p 8888 # perf record -p 8888 -f sleep 10 # perf stat -p 8888 -f sleep 10 Above commands collect the statistics of all threads of process 8888. Signed-off-by: Zhang Yanmin <yanmin_zhang@linux.intel.com> Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Sheng Yang <sheng@linux.intel.com> Cc: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org> Cc: Jes Sorensen <Jes.Sorensen@redhat.com> Cc: Marcelo Tosatti <mtosatti@redhat.com> Cc: Gleb Natapov <gleb@redhat.com> Cc: zhiteng.huang@intel.com Cc: Zachary Amsden <zamsden@redhat.com> LKML-Reference: <1268922965-14774-3-git-send-email-acme@infradead.org> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Diffstat (limited to 'virt/kvm')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions