aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/tools/perf/builtin-record.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorIan Munsie <imunsie@au.ibm.com>2010-04-13 18:37:33 +1000
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>2010-04-14 11:26:44 +0200
commitc05556421742eb47f80301767653a4bcb19de9de (patch)
tree1e9c441a457acee41d2585e05692cc90c1d88be2 /tools/perf/builtin-record.c
parent53e5b5c215ce8372250e227f2c9acf9892de8434 (diff)
downloadlinux-2.6.34-ux500-c05556421742eb47f80301767653a4bcb19de9de.tar.gz
perf: Fix endianness argument compatibility with OPT_BOOLEAN() and introduce OPT_INCR()
Parsing an option from the command line with OPT_BOOLEAN on a bool data type would not work on a big-endian machine due to the manner in which the boolean was being cast into an int and incremented. For example, running 'perf probe --list' on a PowerPC machine would fail to properly set the list_events bool and would therefore print out the usage information and terminate. This patch makes OPT_BOOLEAN work as expected with a bool datatype. For cases where the original OPT_BOOLEAN was intentionally being used to increment an int each time it was passed in on the command line, this patch introduces OPT_INCR with the old behaviour of OPT_BOOLEAN (the verbose variable is currently the only such example of this). I have reviewed every use of OPT_BOOLEAN to verify that a true C99 bool was passed. Where integers were used, I verified that they were only being used for boolean logic and changed them to bools to ensure that they would not be mistakenly used as ints. The major exception was the verbose variable which now uses OPT_INCR instead of OPT_BOOLEAN. Signed-off-by: Ian Munsie <imunsie@au.ibm.com> Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: <stable@kernel.org> # NOTE: wont apply to .3[34].x cleanly, please backport Cc: Git development list <git@vger.kernel.org> Cc: Ian Munsie <imunsie@au1.ibm.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Hitoshi Mitake <mitake@dcl.info.waseda.ac.jp> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Eric B Munson <ebmunson@us.ibm.com> Cc: Valdis.Kletnieks@vt.edu Cc: WANG Cong <amwang@redhat.com> Cc: Thiago Farina <tfransosi@gmail.com> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@redhat.com> Cc: Xiao Guangrong <xiaoguangrong@cn.fujitsu.com> Cc: Jaswinder Singh Rajput <jaswinderrajput@gmail.com> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com> Cc: OGAWA Hirofumi <hirofumi@mail.parknet.co.jp> Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de> Cc: Tom Zanussi <tzanussi@gmail.com> Cc: Anton Blanchard <anton@samba.org> Cc: John Kacur <jkacur@redhat.com> Cc: Li Zefan <lizf@cn.fujitsu.com> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> LKML-Reference: <1271147857-11604-1-git-send-email-imunsie@au.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/builtin-record.c')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/builtin-record.c24
1 files changed, 12 insertions, 12 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-record.c b/tools/perf/builtin-record.c
index dc61f1b68b4..9a951368723 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-record.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-record.c
@@ -38,22 +38,22 @@ static int output;
static const char *output_name = "perf.data";
static int group = 0;
static unsigned int realtime_prio = 0;
-static int raw_samples = 0;
-static int system_wide = 0;
+static bool raw_samples = false;
+static bool system_wide = false;
static int profile_cpu = -1;
static pid_t target_pid = -1;
static pid_t target_tid = -1;
static pid_t *all_tids = NULL;
static int thread_num = 0;
static pid_t child_pid = -1;
-static int inherit = 1;
-static int force = 0;
-static int append_file = 0;
-static int call_graph = 0;
-static int inherit_stat = 0;
-static int no_samples = 0;
-static int sample_address = 0;
-static int multiplex = 0;
+static bool inherit = true;
+static bool force = false;
+static bool append_file = false;
+static bool call_graph = false;
+static bool inherit_stat = false;
+static bool no_samples = false;
+static bool sample_address = false;
+static bool multiplex = false;
static int multiplex_fd = -1;
static long samples = 0;
@@ -465,7 +465,7 @@ static int __cmd_record(int argc, const char **argv)
rename(output_name, oldname);
}
} else {
- append_file = 0;
+ append_file = false;
}
flags = O_CREAT|O_RDWR;
@@ -701,7 +701,7 @@ static const struct option options[] = {
"number of mmap data pages"),
OPT_BOOLEAN('g', "call-graph", &call_graph,
"do call-graph (stack chain/backtrace) recording"),
- OPT_BOOLEAN('v', "verbose", &verbose,
+ OPT_INCR('v', "verbose", &verbose,
"be more verbose (show counter open errors, etc)"),
OPT_BOOLEAN('s', "stat", &inherit_stat,
"per thread counts"),