aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/lib
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJack Steiner <steiner@sgi.com>2010-05-26 14:42:51 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2010-05-27 09:12:44 -0700
commit0ac0c0d0f837c499afd02a802f9cf52d3027fa3b (patch)
treec20a7306d4b727722556af1aa5565855686aee07 /lib
parent6adef3ebe570bcde67fd6c16101451ddde5712b5 (diff)
downloadlinux-2.6.34-ux500-0ac0c0d0f837c499afd02a802f9cf52d3027fa3b.tar.gz
cpusets: randomize node rotor used in cpuset_mem_spread_node()
Some workloads that create a large number of small files tend to assign too many pages to node 0 (multi-node systems). Part of the reason is that the rotor (in cpuset_mem_spread_node()) used to assign nodes starts at node 0 for newly created tasks. This patch changes the rotor to be initialized to a random node number of the cpuset. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix layout] [Lee.Schermerhorn@hp.com: Define stub numa_random() for !NUMA configuration] Signed-off-by: Jack Steiner <steiner@sgi.com> Signed-off-by: Lee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi> Cc: Paul Menage <menage@google.com> Cc: Jack Steiner <steiner@sgi.com> Cc: Robin Holt <holt@sgi.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'lib')
-rw-r--r--lib/bitmap.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/lib/bitmap.c b/lib/bitmap.c
index ffb78c916cc..d7137e7e06e 100644
--- a/lib/bitmap.c
+++ b/lib/bitmap.c
@@ -672,7 +672,7 @@ static int bitmap_pos_to_ord(const unsigned long *buf, int pos, int bits)
*
* The bit positions 0 through @bits are valid positions in @buf.
*/
-static int bitmap_ord_to_pos(const unsigned long *buf, int ord, int bits)
+int bitmap_ord_to_pos(const unsigned long *buf, int ord, int bits)
{
int pos = 0;