aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPeter Oberparleiter <oberpar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>2009-06-17 16:28:03 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2009-06-18 13:03:57 -0700
commitb99b87f70c7785ab1e253c6220f4b0b57ce3a7f7 (patch)
treeec5688052334448ec8edd3a1a9cb95cd68501ac7 /kernel
parente24aca672ff06aff0e6a1045efab86043ea5f735 (diff)
downloadlinux-2.6.34-ux500-b99b87f70c7785ab1e253c6220f4b0b57ce3a7f7.tar.gz
kernel: constructor support
Call constructors (gcc-generated initcall-like functions) during kernel start and module load. Constructors are e.g. used for gcov data initialization. Disable constructor support for usermode Linux to prevent conflicts with host glibc. Signed-off-by: Peter Oberparleiter <oberpar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Acked-by: WANG Cong <xiyou.wangcong@gmail.com> Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com> Cc: Li Wei <W.Li@Sun.COM> Cc: Michael Ellerman <michaele@au1.ibm.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heicars2@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <mschwid2@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel')
-rw-r--r--kernel/module.c16
1 files changed, 16 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/module.c b/kernel/module.c
index 215aaab09e9..38928fcaff2 100644
--- a/kernel/module.c
+++ b/kernel/module.c
@@ -2216,6 +2216,10 @@ static noinline struct module *load_module(void __user *umod,
mod->unused_gpl_crcs = section_addr(hdr, sechdrs, secstrings,
"__kcrctab_unused_gpl");
#endif
+#ifdef CONFIG_CONSTRUCTORS
+ mod->ctors = section_objs(hdr, sechdrs, secstrings, ".ctors",
+ sizeof(*mod->ctors), &mod->num_ctors);
+#endif
#ifdef CONFIG_MARKERS
mod->markers = section_objs(hdr, sechdrs, secstrings, "__markers",
@@ -2389,6 +2393,17 @@ static noinline struct module *load_module(void __user *umod,
goto free_hdr;
}
+/* Call module constructors. */
+static void do_mod_ctors(struct module *mod)
+{
+#ifdef CONFIG_CONSTRUCTORS
+ unsigned long i;
+
+ for (i = 0; i < mod->num_ctors; i++)
+ mod->ctors[i]();
+#endif
+}
+
/* This is where the real work happens */
SYSCALL_DEFINE3(init_module, void __user *, umod,
unsigned long, len, const char __user *, uargs)
@@ -2417,6 +2432,7 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE3(init_module, void __user *, umod,
blocking_notifier_call_chain(&module_notify_list,
MODULE_STATE_COMING, mod);
+ do_mod_ctors(mod);
/* Start the module */
if (mod->init != NULL)
ret = do_one_initcall(mod->init);