aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/kernel/ptrace.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorPeter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>2010-03-25 14:51:50 +0100
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>2010-03-26 11:33:55 +0100
commitfaa4602e47690fb11221e00f9b9697c8dc0d4b19 (patch)
treeaf667d1cdff7dc63b6893ee3f27a1f2503229ed1 /kernel/ptrace.c
parent7c5ecaf7666617889f337296c610815b519abfa9 (diff)
downloadlinux-2.6.34-ux500-faa4602e47690fb11221e00f9b9697c8dc0d4b19.tar.gz
x86, perf, bts, mm: Delete the never used BTS-ptrace code
Support for the PMU's BTS features has been upstreamed in v2.6.32, but we still have the old and disabled ptrace-BTS, as Linus noticed it not so long ago. It's buggy: TIF_DEBUGCTLMSR is trampling all over that MSR without regard for other uses (perf) and doesn't provide the flexibility needed for perf either. Its users are ptrace-block-step and ptrace-bts, since ptrace-bts was never used and ptrace-block-step can be implemented using a much simpler approach. So axe all 3000 lines of it. That includes the *locked_memory*() APIs in mm/mlock.c as well. Reported-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com> Cc: Markus Metzger <markus.t.metzger@intel.com> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> LKML-Reference: <20100325135413.938004390@chello.nl> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/ptrace.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/ptrace.c1
1 files changed, 0 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/ptrace.c b/kernel/ptrace.c
index 42ad8ae729a..9fb51237b18 100644
--- a/kernel/ptrace.c
+++ b/kernel/ptrace.c
@@ -76,7 +76,6 @@ void __ptrace_unlink(struct task_struct *child)
child->parent = child->real_parent;
list_del_init(&child->ptrace_entry);
- arch_ptrace_untrace(child);
if (task_is_traced(child))
ptrace_untrace(child);
}