aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/fs/nls/nls_base.c
AgeCommit message (Collapse)Author
2009-09-30Merge git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/hirofumi/fatfs-2.6Linus Torvalds
* git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/hirofumi/fatfs-2.6: fat: Check s_dirt in fat_sync_fs() vfat: change the default from shortname=lower to shortname=mixed fat/nls: Fix handling of utf8 invalid char
2009-09-24fs: Make unload_nls() NULL pointer safeThomas Gleixner
Most call sites of unload_nls() do: if (nls) unload_nls(nls); Check the pointer inside unload_nls() like we do in kfree() and simplify the call sites. Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Steve French <sfrench@us.ibm.com> Cc: OGAWA Hirofumi <hirofumi@mail.parknet.co.jp> Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Dave Kleikamp <shaggy@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Petr Vandrovec <vandrove@vc.cvut.cz> Cc: Anton Altaparmakov <aia21@cantab.net> Signed-off-by: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
2009-08-01fat/nls: Fix handling of utf8 invalid charOGAWA Hirofumi
With utf8 option, vfat allowed the duplicated filenames. Normal nls returns -EINVAL for invalid char. But utf8s_to_utf16s() skipped the invalid char historically. So, this changes the utf8s_to_utf16s() directly to return -EINVAL for invalid char, because vfat is only user of it. mkdir /mnt/fatfs FILENAME=`echo -ne "invalidutf8char_\\0341_endofchar"` echo "Using filename: $FILENAME" dd if=/dev/zero of=fatfs bs=512 count=128 mkdosfs -F 32 fatfs mount -o loop,utf8 fatfs /mnt/fatfs touch "/mnt/fatfs/$FILENAME" umount /mnt/fatfs mount -o loop,utf8 fatfs /mnt/fatfs touch "/mnt/fatfs/$FILENAME" ls -l /mnt/fatfs umount /mnt/fatfs ---- And the output is: Using filename: invalidutf8char_\0341_endofchar 128+0 records in 128+0 records out 65536 bytes (66 kB) copied, 0.000388118 s, 169 MB/s mkdosfs 2.11 (12 Mar 2005) total 0 -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 0 Jun 28 19:46 invalidutf8char__endofchar -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 0 Jun 28 19:46 invalidutf8char__endofchar Tested-by: Marton Balint <cus@fazekas.hu> Signed-off-by: OGAWA Hirofumi <hirofumi@mail.parknet.co.jp>
2009-06-15NLS: update handling of UnicodeAlan Stern
This patch (as1239) updates the kernel's treatment of Unicode. The character-set conversion routines are well behind the current state of the Unicode specification: They don't recognize the existence of code points beyond plane 0 or of surrogate pairs in the UTF-16 encoding. The old wchar_t 16-bit type is retained because it's still used in lots of places. This shouldn't cause any new problems; if a conversion now results in an invalid 16-bit code then before it must have yielded an undefined code. Difficult-to-read names like "utf_mbstowcs" are replaced with more transparent names like "utf8s_to_utf16s" and the ordering of the parameters is rationalized (buffer lengths come immediate after the pointers they refer to, and the inputs precede the outputs). Fortunately the low-level conversion routines are used in only a few places; the interfaces to the higher-level uni2char and char2uni methods have been left unchanged. Signed-off-by: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu> Acked-by: Clemens Ladisch <clemens@ladisch.de> Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
2009-06-15nls: utf8_wcstombs: fix buffer overflowClemens Ladisch
utf8_wcstombs forgot to include one-byte UTF-8 characters when calculating the output buffer size, i.e., theoretically, it was possible to overflow the output buffer with an input string that contains enough ASCII characters. In practice, this was no problem because the only user so far (VFAT) always uses a big enough output buffer. Signed-off-by: Clemens Ladisch <clemens@ladisch.de> Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
2009-06-15nls: utf8_wcstombs: use correct buffer size in error caseClemens Ladisch
When utf8_wcstombs encounters a character that cannot be encoded, we must not decrease the remaining output buffer size because nothing has been written to the output buffer. Signed-off-by: Clemens Ladisch <clemens@ladisch.de> Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
2008-10-17remove CONFIG_KMOD from fsJohannes Berg
Just always compile the code when the kernel is modular. Convert load_nls to use try_then_request_module to tidy up the code. Signed-off-by: Johannes Berg <johannes@sipsolutions.net> Signed-off-by: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
2007-10-18sparse pointer use of zero as nullStephen Hemminger
Get rid of sparse related warnings from places that use integer as NULL pointer. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: coding-style fixes] Signed-off-by: Stephen Hemminger <shemminger@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de> Cc: Jeff Garzik <jeff@garzik.org> Cc: Matt Mackall <mpm@selenic.com> Cc: Ian Kent <raven@themaw.net> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: Davide Libenzi <davidel@xmailserver.org> Cc: Stephen Smalley <sds@tycho.nsa.gov> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2007-10-17add consts where appropriate in fs/nls/*Denys Vlasenko
Add const modifiers to a few struct nls_table's member pointers in include/linux/nls.h and adds a lot of const's in fs/nls/*.c files. Resulting changes as visible by size: text data bss dec hex filename 113612 481216 2368 597196 91ccc nls.org/built-in.o 593548 3296 288 597132 91c8c nls/built-in.o Apparently compiler managed to optimize code a bit better because of const-ness. No other changes are made. Signed-off-by: Denys Vlasenko <vda.linux@googlemail.com> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
2006-10-03fix file specification in commentsUwe Zeisberger
Many files include the filename at the beginning, serveral used a wrong one. Signed-off-by: Uwe Zeisberger <Uwe_Zeisberger@digi.com> Signed-off-by: Adrian Bunk <bunk@stusta.de>
2006-10-02[PATCH] Remove NULL check in register_nls()Alexey Dobriyan
Everybody passes valid pointer there. Signed-off-by: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com> Acked-by: OGAWA Hirofumi <hirofumi@mail.parknet.co.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
2006-06-30Remove obsolete #include <linux/config.h>Jörn Engel
Signed-off-by: Jörn Engel <joern@wohnheim.fh-wedel.de> Signed-off-by: Adrian Bunk <bunk@stusta.de>
2005-05-05[PATCH] make some things staticAdrian Bunk
This patch makes some needlessly global identifiers static. Signed-off-by: Adrian Bunk <bunk@stusta.de> Acked-by: Arjan van de Ven <arjanv@infradead.org> Acked-by: Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@fys.uio.no> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
2005-04-16Linux-2.6.12-rc2v2.6.12-rc2Linus Torvalds
Initial git repository build. I'm not bothering with the full history, even though we have it. We can create a separate "historical" git archive of that later if we want to, and in the meantime it's about 3.2GB when imported into git - space that would just make the early git days unnecessarily complicated, when we don't have a lot of good infrastructure for it. Let it rip!