aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMahesh Salgaonkar <mahesh@linux.vnet.ibm.com>2010-01-30 10:25:18 +0530
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2010-02-04 01:07:12 +0100
commitcd757645fbdc34a8343c04bb0e74e06fccc2cb10 (patch)
treeb06a5b92674731846b4d22aa53c99d6099b304b7 /include
parentc80d292f137275a1ed88e6ed515ecb457051f1a4 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-android-cd757645fbdc34a8343c04bb0e74e06fccc2cb10.tar.gz
perf: Make bp_len type to u64 generic across the arch
Change 'bp_len' type to __u64 to make it work across archs as the s390 architecture watch point length can be upto 2^64. reference: http://lkml.org/lkml/2010/1/25/212 This is an ABI change that is not backward compatible with the previous hardware breakpoint info layout integrated in this development cycle, a rebuilt of perf tools is necessary for versions based on 2.6.33-rc1 - 2.6.33-rc6 to work with a kernel based on this patch. Signed-off-by: Mahesh Salgaonkar <mahesh@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Ananth N Mavinakayanahalli <ananth@in.ibm.com> Cc: "K. Prasad" <prasad@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Maneesh Soni <maneesh@in.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Martin <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> LKML-Reference: <20100130045518.GA20776@in.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'include')
-rw-r--r--include/linux/hw_breakpoint.h2
-rw-r--r--include/linux/perf_event.h6
2 files changed, 3 insertions, 5 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/hw_breakpoint.h b/include/linux/hw_breakpoint.h
index 070ba062173..5977b724f7c 100644
--- a/include/linux/hw_breakpoint.h
+++ b/include/linux/hw_breakpoint.h
@@ -44,7 +44,7 @@ static inline int hw_breakpoint_type(struct perf_event *bp)
return bp->attr.bp_type;
}
-static inline int hw_breakpoint_len(struct perf_event *bp)
+static inline unsigned long hw_breakpoint_len(struct perf_event *bp)
{
return bp->attr.bp_len;
}
diff --git a/include/linux/perf_event.h b/include/linux/perf_event.h
index 8fa71874113..a177698d95e 100644
--- a/include/linux/perf_event.h
+++ b/include/linux/perf_event.h
@@ -211,11 +211,9 @@ struct perf_event_attr {
__u32 wakeup_watermark; /* bytes before wakeup */
};
- __u32 __reserved_2;
-
- __u64 bp_addr;
__u32 bp_type;
- __u32 bp_len;
+ __u64 bp_addr;
+ __u64 bp_len;
};
/*