aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/include
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>2010-01-15 17:01:12 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2010-01-16 12:15:38 -0800
commit8ecc2951534af10e04ddb5e5ff5c6d217b79f5c2 (patch)
tree44c8400754bc42a072fe7dc117696ebb5699920e /include
parent2427b8e3eaea3719e53bbed7b3375382c3aa6f13 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-android-8ecc2951534af10e04ddb5e5ff5c6d217b79f5c2.tar.gz
kfifo: use void * pointers for user buffers
The pointers to user buffers are currently unsigned char *, which requires a lot of casting in the caller for any non-char typed buffers. Use void * instead. Signed-off-by: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com> Acked-by: Stefani Seibold <stefani@seibold.net> Cc: Roland Dreier <rdreier@cisco.com> Cc: Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com> Cc: Andy Walls <awalls@radix.net> Cc: Vikram Dhillon <dhillonv10@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include')
-rw-r--r--include/linux/kfifo.h10
1 files changed, 5 insertions, 5 deletions
diff --git a/include/linux/kfifo.h b/include/linux/kfifo.h
index c4ac88b3c30..6fb495ea956 100644
--- a/include/linux/kfifo.h
+++ b/include/linux/kfifo.h
@@ -104,15 +104,15 @@ union { \
#undef __kfifo_initializer
-extern void kfifo_init(struct kfifo *fifo, unsigned char *buffer,
+extern void kfifo_init(struct kfifo *fifo, void *buffer,
unsigned int size);
extern __must_check int kfifo_alloc(struct kfifo *fifo, unsigned int size,
gfp_t gfp_mask);
extern void kfifo_free(struct kfifo *fifo);
extern unsigned int kfifo_in(struct kfifo *fifo,
- const unsigned char *from, unsigned int len);
+ const void *from, unsigned int len);
extern __must_check unsigned int kfifo_out(struct kfifo *fifo,
- unsigned char *to, unsigned int len);
+ void *to, unsigned int len);
/**
* kfifo_reset - removes the entire FIFO contents
@@ -194,7 +194,7 @@ static inline __must_check unsigned int kfifo_avail(struct kfifo *fifo)
* bytes copied.
*/
static inline unsigned int kfifo_in_locked(struct kfifo *fifo,
- const unsigned char *from, unsigned int n, spinlock_t *lock)
+ const void *from, unsigned int n, spinlock_t *lock)
{
unsigned long flags;
unsigned int ret;
@@ -219,7 +219,7 @@ static inline unsigned int kfifo_in_locked(struct kfifo *fifo,
* @to buffer and returns the number of copied bytes.
*/
static inline __must_check unsigned int kfifo_out_locked(struct kfifo *fifo,
- unsigned char *to, unsigned int n, spinlock_t *lock)
+ void *to, unsigned int n, spinlock_t *lock)
{
unsigned long flags;
unsigned int ret;