aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/arch/s390/Makefile
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorSam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>2010-07-28 17:33:09 +0200
committerMichal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>2010-08-03 14:09:45 +0200
commit6588169d516560f68672e2928680b71c647b7806 (patch)
tree91b20bf9197c718ff4b5830bb1aea0b1bc0de272 /arch/s390/Makefile
parentd6f4ceb796ebf1a8c8a9ad4a8ea0d181aaec7de6 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-android-6588169d516560f68672e2928680b71c647b7806.tar.gz
kbuild: allow assignment to {A,C,LD}FLAGS_MODULE on the command line
It is now possible to assign options to AS, CC and LD on the command line - which is only used when building modules. {A,C,LD}FLAGS_MODULE was all used both in the top-level Makefile in the arch makefiles, thus users had no way to specify additional options to AS, CC, LD when building modules without overriding the original value. Introduce a new set of variables KBUILD_{A,C,LD}FLAGS_MODULE that is used by arch specific files and free up {A,C,LD}FLAGS_MODULE so they can be assigned on the command line. All arch Makefiles that used the old variables has been updated. Note: Previously we had a MODFLAGS variable for both AS and CC. But in favour of consistency this was dropped. So in some cases arch Makefile has one assignmnet replaced by two assignmnets. Note2: MODFLAGS was not documented and is dropped without any notice. I do not expect much/any breakage from this. Signed-off-by: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org> Cc: Denys Vlasenko <vda.linux@googlemail.com> Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com> Cc: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com> Acked-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org> [blackfin] Acked-by: Haavard Skinnemoen <haavard.skinnemoen@atmel.com> [avr32] Signed-off-by: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
Diffstat (limited to 'arch/s390/Makefile')
-rw-r--r--arch/s390/Makefile3
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/s390/Makefile b/arch/s390/Makefile
index fc8fb20e7fc..83ef8724c83 100644
--- a/arch/s390/Makefile
+++ b/arch/s390/Makefile
@@ -22,7 +22,8 @@ STACK_SIZE := 8192
CHECKFLAGS += -D__s390__ -msize-long
else
LDFLAGS := -m elf64_s390
-MODFLAGS += -fpic -D__PIC__
+KBUILD_AFLAGS_MODULE += -fpic -D__PIC__
+KBUILD_CFLAGS_MODULE += -fpic -D__PIC__
KBUILD_CFLAGS += -m64
KBUILD_AFLAGS += -m64
UTS_MACHINE := s390x