aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation/cgroups
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>2010-03-10 15:22:23 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2010-03-12 15:52:37 -0800
commit378ce724bc2a0ef1243e11c09d58a70bb6be007a (patch)
tree6a0a239547179842a55f9ffc9501cc9d2b0f5499 /Documentation/cgroups
parent104f39284e830f425085886ef72c49aee6631575 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-android-378ce724bc2a0ef1243e11c09d58a70bb6be007a.tar.gz
memcg: rework usage of stats by soft limit
Instead of incrementing counter on each page in/out and comparing it with constant, we set counter to constant, decrement counter on each page in/out and compare it with zero. We want to make comparing as fast as possible. On many RISC systems (probably not only RISC) comparing with zero is more effective than comparing with a constant, since not every constant can be immediate operand for compare instruction. Also, I've renamed MEM_CGROUP_STAT_EVENTS to MEM_CGROUP_STAT_SOFTLIMIT, since really it's not a generic counter. Signed-off-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name> Cc: Li Zefan <lizf@cn.fujitsu.com> Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Balbir Singh <balbir@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@openvz.org> Cc: Dan Malek <dan@embeddedalley.com> Cc: Vladislav Buzov <vbuzov@embeddedalley.com> Cc: Daisuke Nishimura <nishimura@mxp.nes.nec.co.jp> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <virtuoso@slind.org> Cc: Davide Libenzi <davidel@xmailserver.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/cgroups')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions