aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/Documentation/cgroups
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>2010-03-10 15:22:36 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2010-03-12 15:52:38 -0800
commit1e111452d457ceedec8a57fc3d45b1312e736fba (patch)
tree6d1babdeb8fbe3c43be0b7367df51d2cc902be3e /Documentation/cgroups
parent1d8fd973a41942bc760dd21581e24117bc1dd063 (diff)
downloadlinux-linaro-android-1e111452d457ceedec8a57fc3d45b1312e736fba.tar.gz
memcg: update memcg_test.txt to describe memory thresholds
Decription of sanity check for memory thresholds. Signed-off-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name> Acked-by: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Paul Menage <menage@google.com> Cc: Li Zefan <lizf@cn.fujitsu.com> Cc: Balbir Singh <balbir@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Pavel Emelyanov <xemul@openvz.org> Cc: Dan Malek <dan@embeddedalley.com> Cc: Daisuke Nishimura <nishimura@mxp.nes.nec.co.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/cgroups')
-rw-r--r--Documentation/cgroups/memcg_test.txt21
1 files changed, 21 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/cgroups/memcg_test.txt b/Documentation/cgroups/memcg_test.txt
index e01148886b5..4d32e0ed191 100644
--- a/Documentation/cgroups/memcg_test.txt
+++ b/Documentation/cgroups/memcg_test.txt
@@ -396,3 +396,24 @@ Under below explanation, we assume CONFIG_MEM_RES_CTRL_SWAP=y.
memory.stat of both A and B.
See 8.2 of Documentation/cgroups/memory.txt to see what value should be
written to move_charge_at_immigrate.
+
+ 9.10 Memory thresholds
+ Memory controler implements memory thresholds using cgroups notification
+ API. You can use Documentation/cgroups/cgroup_event_listener.c to test
+ it.
+
+ (Shell-A) Create cgroup and run event listener
+ # mkdir /cgroup/A
+ # ./cgroup_event_listener /cgroup/A/memory.usage_in_bytes 5M
+
+ (Shell-B) Add task to cgroup and try to allocate and free memory
+ # echo $$ >/cgroup/A/tasks
+ # a="$(dd if=/dev/zero bs=1M count=10)"
+ # a=
+
+ You will see message from cgroup_event_listener every time you cross
+ the thresholds.
+
+ Use /cgroup/A/memory.memsw.usage_in_bytes to test memsw thresholds.
+
+ It's good idea to test root cgroup as well.